Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
July 31, 2014
Brown, Lowry, Carter, Whalen and Schroeder Take Checkers on Bill & Ray's Night

Brown, Lowry, Carter, Whalen and Schroeder Take Checkers on Bill & Ray's Night
By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 30th, 2014) Wednesday's nights racing action was hot and heavy all night long on Bill & Ray's Truck Repair and Wrecker Service Night. The youngster had a candy toss on the front stretch during intermission thanks to the night's sponsor.

The Stock Car King of the Hill saw Zack Vanderbeek beat Grinnell's Todd Reitzler for a brand new hooiser tire and $250 in cash. Osky Challenge Promoter and Sprint Car Driver Terry McCarl was in attendance hot lapping his car.

First feature of the night was the Pepsi Cola Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature. Bobby Greene lead the opening lap but his lead was short lived as Craig Brown was able to take the lead away. Brown held off Mike Hughes, who was going for seven in a row, including the last lap when Hughes tried to take the lead away. Brown was not to be denied win number two of the season at Osky. Hughes settled for second, Danny Thrasher was third, Dustin Griffiths was fourth and Shannon Sherwood was fifth.

Charlie Weber grabbed the early lead in the 16 lap IMCA SportMod feature. Weber continued to lead until the first race caution on lap six when Bill Wears spun in turn two. Brayton Carter took the lead away on the restart from Weber meanwhile Weber stayed in tow until Curtis VanDerWal and Brett Lowry snuck by him, Weber than brought out the caution on lap nine. Carter continued to lead through the caution on lap 13 for debris in turn two. On the restart, Carter had to contend with VanDerWal and it was VanDerWal taking the lead away on lap 14. VanDerWal and Carter got together in turn two both sent to the tail that handed the lead over to Brett Lowry. Lowry lead the remaining laps to take fourth win of 2014 at Osky including a green-white-checkered finish after the final race caution when Colton Livezey and VanDerWal got together. Tony Johnson, Carter VanDenBerg, Corey Van Zante and Carter rounded out the top five.

In the "Class To Tough To Tame" Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature it was Todd Reitzler jumping out to the early lead. Cayden Carter grabbed the lead away on lap five meanwhile Orange Crush teammate Zack Vanderbeek got by Reitzler for second with five laps to go. Carter went on to take seventh win on the season and fifth in a row meanwhile for the second week in a row Vanderbeek finished second. Reitzler was third, Corey Stout was fourth and Mike Harward was fifth.

Matt Moore lead the first three laps in the IMCA Sport Compacts ten lap feature before Trent Orwig took it away on lap four. Orwig lead until lap eight when "Happy Feet" Bill Whalen took the top spot away. Whalen went on to take ninth win at Osky in 2014. Orwig and Moore finished second and third respectively meanwhile John Whalen finished fourth on the final lap despite no left rear wheel. John Menuis was fifth.

Final Feature of the night was 16 lap Musco Lighting IMCA Modified feature and it was Bill Davis Jr grabbing the early lead. Tyler Groenendyk took the lead away on lap six and two laps later the only race caution came out for Ray Bunnell in turn two. Groenendyk held on until lap ten when "Kool Aid" Andrew Schroeder took the lead away. Schroeder went on to take his fourth win at Osky. Cayden Carter came across second, Groenendyk fell back to third, Davis was fourth and Jerry Pilcher was fifth.

Next Week on Monday Night the Speedway will host the 19th Annual Musco Lighting Front Challenge promoted by Terry McCarl. More information can be found out

Weekly racing takes a couple weeks off because of the Front Challenge next week and the Iowa State Fair the following week and will return with Edel Lawn Service Night on Wednesday August 20th. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For More information check out or call Mike Van Genderen at 641-521-0330.

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group