Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
July 24, 2014
Hughes Makes It Six In a Row at Osky

Hughes Makes It Six In a Row at Osky
By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 23rd, 2014) Well after a last week's busy week of racing at the Southern Iowa Speedway is a rather calm week as nobody new what to expect. Racing was exciting despite the car count which saw three drivers continue there winning streaks.

First feature of the night was the Pepsi Cola Mahaska Bottling IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature. Steve Allen started on the outside front row and jumped out to the early lead despite having Danny Thrasher knocking on his back side early. Allen was able to put a little seperation but that was short lived as Thrasher, Mike Hughes and Dustin Griffiths chase him back down. Allen held off all challenges until the last set of turns when Mike Hughes made the move and snuck the win away from Allen for his 10th win of the season at Osky and 6th in a row. Allen finished second, Griffiths was third, Thrasher was fourth and Nick Ulin was fifth.

Matt Moore grabbed the early lead in the ten lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature but then "Happy Feet" Bill Whalen was able to grab the lead away on lap six. The only caution came out on lap eight for Matt Beal in turn two but it was Whalen taking his eighth win and third in a row.  Trent Orwig was second, Moore fell back to third, John Whalen was fourth and Matt Girdley was fifth.

In the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 15 lap feature it was Scott Dickey taking advantage of his outside front row starting spot as he took the lead early. The first race caution came out on lap three for Tyler Groenendyk spun around in turn two. That did not bother Dickey neither did the caution on lap nine for Ray Bunnell on the backstretch as Dickey went on to take the win. Cayden Carter, Andrew Schroeder, Kyle  Brown and Casey Greubel rounded out the top five.

Tony Johnson lead the first eight laps in the KBOE Radio IMCA SportMods 16 lap feature before fellow Oskaloosa driver Curtis VanDerWal took the lead away on lap nine. VanDerWal cruised on to take his fifth win of the season. Ryan Fullenkamp came across the line in second but was disqualifed in post race tech inspection that moved up Brett Lowry to second. Johnson came home in third, Carter Vandenberg was fourth and Brayton Carter was fifth.

Final Feature of the night was 16 lap IMCA Stock Cars feature and it was Todd Reitzler grabbing the lead but just after the completion of lap one the caution came out for debris in turn one. Reitzler saw Orange behind because Kelderman Orange Crush teammates Cayden Carter and Zack Vanderbeek was there. Carter took the lead away on lap two meanwhile Vanderbeek following in too second. Carter held off Vanderbeek to take his 6th of season and 4th in a row. Corey Stout got by Todd Reitzler for third meanwhile Kris Walker rounded out the top five.

Next Wednesday Night will be Billy Ray's Truck Repair and Wrecker Service Night. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For More information check out or call Mike Van Genderen at 641-521-0330.

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group