Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
July 3, 2014
Chandler, Anderson and Vanderbeek Top Points on Night #1 of Stock Car Shootout
Chandler, Anderson and Vanderbeek Top Points on Night #1 of Stock Car Shootout
By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 2nd, 2014) Wednesday Night Mother Nature tried her best to wipe away opening night of the 19th Annual Budweiser Great American Stock Car Shootout and Inaugural Merv Chandler Memorial not once but twice. Promoter Mike Van Genderen did not give up after working the track in twice, racing took place.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars, Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts each ran two sets of heat races with the best point getter earning the pole of the dash on Thursday. There would also be a complete show for both the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds and KBOE Radio IMCA Sport Mods.

In the Budweier IMCA Stock Cars, Round one heats went to Damon Murty, Brandon Jay and Zack Vanderbeek. Round Two heats went to Jason Minnehan, Derrick Agee and Justin Temeyer. Top eight in heat race points were Zack Vanderbeek, Corey Stout, Derrick Agee, Damon Murty, Doug Adamy, Scott Pippert, Brandon Jay and Cayden Carter.

For the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks it was Dale Porter, Shannon Anderson and Dustin Griffiths in Round one heats. Craig Brown, Eric Stanton and Anderson won round two heats. Top eight in points were Anderson, Griffiths, Danny Thrasher, John Watson, Brown, Stanton, Mike Hughes and Jason See.

Nathan Chandler and Kassidy Kirkpatrick won round one of heat races in the IMCA Sport Compacts Merv Chandler Memorial meanwhile Shaun Slaughter and Chandler won round two heats. So since Chandler won both rounds he lead the top eight with Slaughter, Brandon Lambert, Cody Cleghorn, Kassidy Kirkpatrick, Adam Gates, Nick Van Hemert and Bill Whalen Jr also rounding out the top eight in points.

In the KBOE Radio IMCA Sport Mods 14 lap feature, the field saw the caution come out when Point Leader Jason McDaniel spun on the front stretch on the initial start. Jason Hall grabbed the lead on the restart and lead until Montezuma's Brett Lowry took it away on lap five. Lowry pulled away to win by over a full straight-away to take his second win of the season at Osky. Carter Vandenberg got by Hall on lap ten for the second spot meanwhile Hall finished third. Charlie Weber was fourth and Brayton Carter was fifth.

For the second week in a row, Rookie AJ Johnson grabbed the early lead in the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 14 lap feature. "Kool-Aid Kid" Andrew Schroeder, celebrating his birthday, took the lead away on lap three and had a full straight-away lead over Johnson when the only race caution came out on lap 12 for Scott Dickey in turn three. Schroder lead the remaining two laps to take third win in a row at Osky. Johnson finished second, Jeff Mueller finished third, Cayden Cater was fourth and Dakota Hayden was fifth.

Final Race of the night was Iowa Sportsman Series 30 lap event. Aaron Martin lead the first five laps before Travis Dawson took the lead away. Dawson went on to take the win despite several challenges from Darrin DeZwarte. Martin, Doug Weiss and Darin Van Dee rounded out the top five.

Southern Iowa Speedway is back at again Thursday Night for Night two of 19th Annual Budweiser Great American Stock Car Shootout and Inaugural Merv Chandler Memorial. $2,000 to win IMCA Stock Cars, $1,000 to win IMCA Hobby Stocks and $700 to win IMCA Sport Compacts. Edel Lawn Care has added $200 to third place finisher in the Stock Cars. McFarland Pain Clinic added $200 to the hard charger award if the competitor raced Wednesday. All IMCA Points (Track, Regional, State and National) will be awarded, track provisionals for top two not qualified for feature if in top 15 in SIS Points.

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group