Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
July 31, 2013
Whalen, Hughes, VanDerWal, Vanderbeek and Dickey Takes Victories on 1st Community Credit Union Night

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 31st, 2013) –  Another night where the weather was absolutely beautiful and the racing was great. Fans in attendance also got some added attraction with a King of the Hill in both the Stock Cars and Modifieds plus some Wheelbarrow Races.

In the Stock Car King of the Hill it was Jason Cook, Zack Vanderbeek and Damon Murty all taking first round wins. Murty had the most wins in the first round so he advantage to the finals and had a rematch with Vanderbeek, who beat Cook in the semifinal. Vanderbeek got revenge on Murty in the finals and take the win, Vanderbeek won a new Hoosier tire.

Modified King of the Hill was swept by Bill Davis Jr. as he claimed five wins by beating Bill Gibson, Andrew Schroeder, Todd Shute, Cayden Carter and Tyler Groenendyk. Davis got a brand new Hoosier tire for his efforts.

Meanwhile right after that wheel barrow races happened and it was Scott Dickey and Brayton Carter winning in the final over Rich Vogt and Todd Shute. Dickey and Carter will receive a free pit pass when the speedway returns with weekly racing on August 21st.

First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts feature and it was Trent Orwig grabbing the lead on the opening lap. Orwig’s lead was short lived as on lap two he experience troubles and came to a stop in turn four, this handed the lead over John Whalen. Whalen held off several challenges through the remaining laps from Shawn Cooney to take the win. It was Whalen’s third of the season at SIS and it gives him the points lead as Merv Chandler and Bill Whalen Jr. didn’t compete on the night. Cooney came home in the runner-up position, Matt Moore finish third and Trent Orwig was fourth.

Steve Allen grabbed the lead early in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks feature but Dustin Griffiths worked his way into second on lap 2. Griffiths set his sights and trying to get by and race side by side with Allen until lap six when it was Griffiths grabbing the lead. Griffith saw Bill Bonnett follow suit and then Mike Hughes. Hughes was on a mission as he grabbed second away from Allen and Bonnett on lap ten and then grabbed the lead away on lap twelve. Hughes went on to take his fifth win of the season at Osky. Griffiths, Bonnett, Allen and Aaron Osweiler rounded out the top five.

In the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature it was AJ Johnson grabbing the lead but on lap four, Johnson slid up the race track and open the bottom side for Brayton Carter, Carter snuck by and then shortly after the yellow waved when Logan Anderson hit a tractor tire in turn two while running third. On the restart, Leroy Groenendyk had a slip of the grip in turn two. Carter remained out front until his cousin Carter VanDenBerg grabbed the top spot away on lap nine. Carter and VanDenBerg race for the lead until lap twelve when the red flag came after Carter made contact with a tractor tire that sent him rolling, Carter was okay but ended his run. VanDenBerg had to deal with Curtis VanDerWal, Eric Flander and Brett Lowry on the restart. VanDerWal made the right move and grabbed the top spot away on lap fourteen and cruised on to win number eight at his hometown track. VanDenBerg came home in second, Lowry came across in third but was disqualified in post-race tech so that handed third over to Flander. Tyler Heckard and AJ Johnson rounded out the top five.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature and before a single lap could be completed the caution waved when Tyler Groenendyk and Jacob Murray spun in turn one. When the race got going it was Scott Dickey grabbing the lead and even after a debris caution on lap three it was all over. Dickey took the win with Todd Shute in second, Cayden Carter in third, Brandon Banks in fourth and Bill Davis Jr. in fifth.

Weekly Racing will now take a couple of weeks off because of Sprint Week and the State Fair and return on Wednesday Night August 21st for Support American Farmers Night plus the final night for the IMCA Late Models. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

Next week though the Speedway will host  the 18th Annual Musco Lighting Front Row Challenge featuring ASCS Sprints and NASCAR Driver Tony Stewart on Monday Night August 5th and then the Casey’s General Stores Ultimate Challenge presented by Searsboro Telephone Co. on Tuesday  6th.  For tickets next week call (515) 957-0020.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results
1st Community Credit Union Night
July 31st, 2013

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

1. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 2. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 3. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 4. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 5. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 6. 77 Jeff Mueller (New London); 7. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 8. 7W Jerry Pilcher (Bloomfield); 9. 13 Matt Waugh (Des Moines); 10. 17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 11. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 12. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 13. 17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 14. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); DNS/15. 66 Gordon Head Jr. (Des Moines)

Heat 1: 1. Gibson; 2. Shute; 3. Dickey; 4. Pilcher; 5. Banks; 6. Waugh; 7. Head; 8. Pumphrey
Heat 2: 1. Davis; 2. Carter; 3. Groenendyk; 4. Schroeder; 5. Murray; 6. Greubel; 7. Mueller

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars
1. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 2. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 3. 27J Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant); 4. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 5. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 6. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 7. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 8. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 9. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 10. 18 Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 11. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 12. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 13. 3G Lonnie Greiner (Fairfield); 14. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 15. 57 Keith Kuder (Rose Hill)

Heat 1: 1. Nunnikhoven; 2. Van Gorp; 3. Pinkerton; 4. Cook; 5. Reitzler; 6. Pearson; 7. Welch; 8. Kuder
Heat 2: 1. Stout; 2. Murty; 3. Vogt; 4. Vanderbeek; 5. Wood; 6. Walker; 7. Greiner

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods

1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 3. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 4. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 5. 8J AJ Johnson (New Sharon); 6. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 7. 49G Leroy Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 8. 29 Bill Livezey (New Sharon); 9. 1 Roger Dresden (Keokuk); 10. 10 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 11. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); DQ: 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma)

Heat 1: 1. VanDerWal; 2. Carter; 3. VanDenBerg; 4. Groenendyk; 5. Livezey; 6. Heckart
Heat 2: 1. Anderson; 2. AJ Johnson; 3. Flander; 4. T. Johnson; 5. Dresden; 6. Lowry

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks
1. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 3. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 4. 3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 5. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English); 6. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 7. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 8. 5B Dane Blozovich (Exline); 9. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 10. 224 Gina Greubel (Lacona); 11. 55 Jared Stephens (Bussey); 12. 33J Justin Millhouse (Batavia); 13. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); DNS/14. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield)

Heat 1: 1. Griffiths; 2. Thrasher; 3. Bunnell; 4. Osweiler; 5. Blozovich; 6. Stephens; 7. Porter
Heat 2: 1. Hughes; 2. Allen; 3. Bonnett; 4. Hook; 5. Greene; 6. Greubel; 7. Millhouse

IMCA Sport Compacts
1. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 2. 30 Shawn Cooney (Des Moines); 3. 2M Matt Moore (Ottumwa); 4. 04 Trent Orwig (Blakesburg)

Heat: 1. Cooney; 2. Moore; 3. Whalen; 4. Orwig
News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright © 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group