Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
July 10, 2013
Chandler, Bonnett, VanDerWal, Pinkerton and Dickey Takes Dave Lowry Memorial Wins at Osky

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 10th, 2013) –  Wednesday Night the race track honored a long time supporter of the Southern Iowa Speedway with the Dave Lowry Memorial sponsored by Monte Motor Parts, your official Bobcat, Kubota, Landpride and Napa Auto Parts Dealer in Montezuma. Also the night featured a Sport Mod King of the Hill sponsored by Monte Motor Parts and John’s Tree Service.

After all the heat races were completed the Sport Mod King of the Hill took place and it was Curtis VanDerWal, Jason McDaniel and Brett Lowry making the final three. VanDerWal beat Lowry for the chance to face McDaniel in the final of the King of the Hill both won three races before the final three. McDaniel grabbed the win over VanDerWal to pocket $150 meanwhile VanDerWal pocketd an extra $50.

Despite only three cars in the IMCA Sport Compacts feature, the race was very entertaining. John Whalen grabbed the lead and continue to hold off Bill Whalen and Merv Chandler until lap seven. John Whalen lost a wheel in turn two that allowed Chandler and Bill Whalen Jr to get by. Chandler went on to take the win with Bill Whalen Jr. in second.

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks feature saw Bobby Greene grab the early lead but just after most of the field crossed the start finish line, the caution waved when Brandon Potts, driving the old Scott Shull car, was facing the wrong direction on the front stretch meanwhile Bill Bonnett was in the work area changing a tire, Bonnett was scored on lap one so by a technically he was not a lap down since the whole field was not scored on lap two. Greene continue to lead but the caution waved again on lap five when Danny Thrasher experience troubles. Greene lead until lap 9 when Bill Bonnett got by. Bonnett went on to take his second win of the season. Mike Hughes, Greene, Justin Hook and Dustin Griffiths round out the top five.

Logan Anderson  grabbed the early lead in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature before the caution waved on lap 3 when Tony Johnson experience problems on the front stretch. Anderson continued to lead until a pair of cautions on lap seven and eight. Anderson saw veteran driver Curtis VanDerWal, who worked his way up to second after starting ninth. VanDerWal made the past on lap nine to grab the lead from Anderson and cruise on to his sixth win of the season. Eric Flander grabbed the second spot on lap eleven, Carter VanDenBerg grabbed third, Brett Lowry came home in fourth and Anderson was fifth.

Brad Pinkerton started on the pole in the Budweiser Stock Car feature and never looked back in the 18 lap race. Only thing that was trying to slow Pinkerton was lap traffic late in the race but he wasn’t to be denied as he took his first win of the season. Zack Vanderbeek finish in the runner up position. Jason Cook, Rich Vogt and Alan Van Gorp rounded out the top 5.

The final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modified feature and after the initial start was called back it was Scott Dickey grabbing the lead. Dickey started to pull away after Todd Shute left the race early after making his way to second and then broke a tie rod because of hitting a tractor tire. Dickey went on to take his second win of the season at SIS. Jacob Murray finish second and Colt Mather was third. Andrew Schroeder, 1st visit back after the incident with Mark Widmar earlier this season, came home in fourth and Jeremy Mills most likely getting ready for next week’s money week came home in fifth.

Next Week there will be two nights of racing during the Southern Iowa Fair sponsored by Pepsi Mahaska Bottling Company and KBOE Radio. First up is Tuesday Night The Hawkeye Dirt Tour plus the IMCA Late Models ($600 to win), Sport Mods ($350 to win), Stock Cars ($400 to win) and Hobby Stocks ($250 to win). Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

Then on Wednesday Night will be the Southern Iowa Fair Race with IMCA Modifieds ($1,000 to win), IMCA Stock Cars ($450 to win), Sport Mods ($400), Hobby Stocks ($300 to win) and Sport Compacts ($150 to win). Modifieds, Stock Cars, Sport Mods and  Hobby Stocks drivers will be eligible for these higher payouts providing they competed Tuesday Night. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results
2nd Annual Dave Lowry Memorial sponsored by Monte Motor Parts
July 10th, 2013

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds
1. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 2. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 3. 8 Colt Mather (Webster); 4. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 5. 10M Jeremy Mills (Garner); 6. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 7. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 8. 17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 9. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 10. 2L Adam Larson (Ames); 11. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 12. 17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 13. 505 Racer Hulin (Laurel); 14. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 15. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); DNS: 66 Gordon Head (Des Moines)

Heat 1: 1. Dickey; 2. Schroeder; 3. Mather; 4. Mills; 5. Pumphrey; 6. Banks; 7. Groenendyk; DNS: Head
Heat 2:
1. Davis; 2. Shute; 3. Murray; 4. Carter; 5. Greubel; 6. Gibson; 7. Hulin; 8. Larson

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars
1. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 2. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 3. 27J Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant); 4. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 5. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 6. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 7. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 8. 18 Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 9. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 10. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 11. 87 Les Blakley (Fairfield); 12. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 13. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 14. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 15. 73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Des Moines); 16. 46B Michael Bilyeu (Indianola)

Heat 1: 1. Cook; 2. Stout; 3. Pinkerton; 4. Wood; 5. Nunnikhoven; 6. Pearson; 7. Walker; 8. Blakley
Heat 2:
1. Van Gorp; 2. Reitzler; 3. Murty; 4. Vanderbeek; 5.Vogt; 6. Welch; 7. Yaw; 8.Bilyeu

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods
1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 3. Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 4. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 5. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 6. 7+ Jared Timmerman (Norwalk); 7. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 8. 2 Bill Wears (Des Moines); 9. 30X Josh Modde (Des Moines); 10. 29 Bill Livezey (New Sharon); 11. 34Z Cory Van Zante (Sully); 12. 1 Roger Dresden (Keokuk); 13. 10 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 14. 8J A.J. Johnson (New Sharon); 15. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa)

Heat 1: 1. T Johnson; 2. VanDenBerg; 3. A.J. Johnson; 4. VanDerWal; 5. Timmerman; 6. McDaniel; 7. Dresden; 8. Carter
Heat 2: 1. Flander; 2. Lowry; 3. Anderson; 4. Livezey; 5.Van Zante; 6. Wears; 7. Modde

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks
1. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 2. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 3. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 4. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 5. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 6. 3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 7. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 8. 55 Jared Stephens (Bussey); 9. 57 Brandon Potts (Eldon); 10. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield); 11. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 12. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English)

Heat 1:
1. Bonnett; 2. Bunnell; 3. Griffiths; 4. Hook; 5. Osweiler; 6. Potts
Heat 2: 1. Hughes; 2. Greene; 3. Thrasher; 4. Allen; 5. Porter; 6. Stephens

IMCA Sport Compacts
1. 2 Merv Chandler (Urbana); 2. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 3. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth)

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright © 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group