Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
June 12, 2013
Griffiths Wins Exciting Finish on Fan Appreciation Night at Southern Iowa Speedway

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa
(June 12th, 2013) Thanks to many great sponsors like WCM Metalworks, Yaw's Auto Salvage, McDonald's, Pepsi, KBOE, Nutz Graphics, Slideways Karting Center,  Supreme Lawn & Landscaping and Bank Iowa fans were treated to free admission in the grandstands. The stands were packed and Ronald McDonald was also in the house. For track crew the weather was questionable as it was upper 80s all day but about the time the races finished the temperatures where in the mid 60s.

In the IMCA Sport Compacts feature it was Bill Whalen Jr. grabbing the lead on the opening lap before Merv Chandler grabbed the lead on lap 2. Chandler went on to take his 3rd win of the season at SIS over Bill Whalen Jr, John Whalen and Shawn Cooney.

Dale Porter lead the first 3 laps in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks feature but he was passed by Bill Bonnett on lap 4. Bonnett continue to lead through a couple of cautions,  one on lap 8 and the other one on lap 10. Bonnett had his hands full the last 5 laps though as Mike Hughes, Dustin Griffiths and Porter were all right there and made for a crazy and exciting finish that placed every fan in the stands on their feet. Griffiths was credited with the win, Dale Porter finish 2nd, Mike Hughes was 3rd, Bonnett was 4th and Craig Brown was 5th.

Logan Anderson lead the opening lap in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature but 8th place starter Curtis VanDerWal worked his way up to grab the lead on lap 2. VanDerwal went on to take the win over 6th place starter Jason McDaniel. Tony Johnson finish third, Brett Lowry started ninth and finish fourth and Ben Kates finish fifth.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Car feature just before a lap was completed the caution waved for debris in turn one. On the restart it was Alan Van Gorp grabbing the lead but his lead was short lived as Rich Vogt grabbed the spot away on lap 2. Vogt held on to the until 8th place starter Nathan Wood had worked his way through the field on lap 5. Wood was only slowed down by a caution on lap 14 forcing Jason Minnehan, Jeff Joldersma and Kris Walker right there. Wood held on to the win with Walker finishing second, Derek Kirkland finish third after starting tenth, Corey Stout finish fourth and Jason Cook was fifth.

Scott Dickey lead from start to finish in the Musco Lighting IMCA Modified feature and a late race caution forcing the red flag when a few cars got together in turn 4 wanted to spoil that for Dickey. Dickey was able to hold off challenges from Jesse Sobbing and Jacob Murray to take the win. Sobbing finish 2nd, Jacob Murray finish 3rd, Todd Shute was 4th and Cayden Carter was 5th.

Next Wednesday Night will be Drost Equipment and Jerry's Pro Collision Center Night with IMCA Late Models for third appearance of the season plus for the kids there will be race car rides. Also racing will be the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts.   Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm every Wednesday Night.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results
Fan Appreciation Night
June 12th, 2013

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

: 1. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 2. 99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 3. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 4. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 5. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 6. 92 Josh Most (Red Oak); 7. 13H Travis Hatcher (Honey Creek); 8. 17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 9. 51 Tyler Vandekamp (Ankeny); 10. 13 Matt Waugh (Altoona); 11. 11R Brandon Ruffcorn; 12. 17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 13. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 14. 149 Kyle Wahlert (Pleasant Hill); 15. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 16. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 17. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 18. 62 Greg Cox (Newton)

Heat 1: 1. Dickey; 2. Carter; 3. Banks; 4. Shute; 5. Most; 6. Gibson; 7. Groenendyk; 8. Pumphrey; 9. Ruffcorn
Heat 2: 1. Sobbing; 2. Greubel; 3. Murray; 4. Vandekamp; 5. Wahlert; 6. Waugh; 7. Hatcher; 8. Cox; 9. Davis

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars
: 1. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 2. 18 Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 3. 2K Derek Kirkland (Centerville); 4. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 5. 27J Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant); 6. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 7. 66 Jeff Joldersma (McClelland); 8. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 9. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 10. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 11. 7S Jason Minnehan (Churdan); 12. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 13. 73C Carl Yaw (Pleasant Hill)

Heat 1: 1. Joldersma; 2. Minnehan; 3. Cook; 4. Vogt; 5. Van Gorp; 6. Pearson; 7. Welch
Heat 2: 1. Reitzler; 2. Wood; 3. Kirkland; 4. Walker; 5. Yaw; 6. Stout

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods
: 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 3. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 4. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 5. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 6. 23K Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, KS); 7. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 8. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 9. 51X Matt Webb (Des Moines); 10. 10 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 11. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 12. 02 Mike Goldsberry (Runnells);  DNS: 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 8J AJ Johnson (New Sharon)

Heat 1: 1. VanDerWal; 2. Kates; 3. McDaniel; 4. Anderson; 5. T. Johnson; 6. Webb; 7. Hall
Heat 2: 1. Heckart; 2. VanDenBerg; 3. Lowry; 4. Goldsberry; 5. Flander; 6. Carter; 7. AJ Johnson

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks
: 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 2. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield); 3. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 4. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 5. 69 Craig Brown (Eldon); 6. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 7. 96R Jamie Songer (Ankeny); 8. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 9. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 10. 55 Jared Stephens (Bussey); 11. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English); 12. 224X    Jeff Greubel (Lacona); 13. 2013 August Bach (Newton); 14. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 15. 99 Erick Knutsen (Cedar Rapids); 16. 77 Derek Hodges (Des Moines); 17. 20T Richard Yaw II (Pleasant Hill); 18. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 19. 53D Ron Downing Jr. (Ottumwa)

Heat 1: 1. Porter; 2. Hodges; 3. Songer; 4. Nunnikhoven; 5. Bonnett; 6. Bach; 7. Osweiler; 8. Greubel; 9. Bunnell; 10. Hughes
Heat 2: 1. Griffiths; 2. Thrasher; 3. Brown; 4. Hook; 5. Yaw; 6. Greene; 7. Knutsen; 8. Stephens; 9. Downing

IMCA Sport Compacts
: 1. 2 Merv Chandler (Urbana); 2. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 3. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 4. 30 Shawn Cooney (Des Moines)

: 1. Chandler; 2. B. Whalen; 3. Cooney; 4. J. Whalen

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group