Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
May 9, 2013
Hughes and Sobbing Repeat on Kelli Steil State Farm Insurance Night at SIS

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (May 8th, 2013) – This Season, Wednesday night’s seem to be a head scratcher for Speedway Officials because of good old Mother Nature but  for the third week in a row the track dodged the rain other than a light shower before hot laps. That light shower didn’t hurt the track  because Promoter Mike Van Genderen decided not to add water on the track anticipating the light shower and that decision was perfect as the track produced some great racing all night long.

Craig Brown grabbed the early lead in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stock feature but on lap 6, the first caution waved when Dale Porter was unable to get his car to the pits. Brown didn’t let it bother him as he resumed command and held off challenges from Kevin Fee. Mike Hughes got by Fee on lap 10 and set his sights on trying to get by Brown for the lead. Brown held on to the lead until a caution waved just after the 14th lap was scored when Blake Miller was unable to get to the pits after his car broke. Hughes slipped by Brown on the restart to take the lead and then the caution waved again this time for debris in turn 2. Hughes held off challenges from Brown and Fee to take his 2nd win in a row at SIS. Brown finished 2nd with Fee in 3rd. Dustin Griffiths and Jamie Songer rounded out the top 5.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars feature it was Todd Reitzler grabbing the early race lead. Jason Minnehan took the lead away on lap 3 and when on to a fairly easy win despite a late race caution on lap 15 when Donnie Pearon went off the backstretch because it power plant expired and flames under the hood at the same time Damon Murty pulled in with heavy smoke under his hood. Minnehan took the win over Randy Killen, Nathan Wood, Jeff Joldersma and Todd Reitzler.

“Hollywood” Brandon Banks  jumped to the early lead but then the first yellow waved on lap 2 for Steve Pumphrey hitting a tractor tire in turn 2. Banks continue to lead and appeared to be pulling away while Tyler Vandekamp, Cayden Carter and Todd Shute where battling for position and then Vandekamp saw his engine expire forcing the yellow to come to out. Three laps later, Shute had issues and went off the backstretch forcing the yellow to wave unfortunately, Banks didn’t want to see this yellow because on the restart he was passed by Jesse Sobbing. Sobbing went on to take his 2nd straight win, Banks finished 2nd. Bill Gibson was 3rd, Jacob Murray was 4th and Tyler Groenendyk was 5th.

Cory Van Zante lead the first 2 laps in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature but was passed by Tyler Gross. Gross looking to be going on to the easy win but just after the white flag the yellow came out on lap 14 when AJ Johnson had some mechanical trouble forcing him to a stop in turn 2. This forced a green-white-checkered and on the restart it was Curtis VanDerWal slipping by Gross for the lead. VanDerWal went on to take the win meanwhile Gross finished 2nd. Tony Johnson, Brett Lowry and Ben Kates rounded out the top 5.

In the IMCA Sport Compacts feature it was Alex Sampson leading the first 2 laps before Merv Chandler got by on lap 3. Chandler went on to take the win and doing so became the 3rd different winner  to sweep the heat race and feature in as many weeks in the Sport Compacts. Last Week’s Winner John Whalen was 2nd, Bill Whalen Jr. was 3rd, Alex Sampson was 4th and Matt Moore was 5th.

Next Wednesday Night will be Kelderman’s Hobby Shack Night at the Races as well as SIS Most Popular Driver Night. Iowa Sportsman Series will also be on hand for the 2nd race on the 1/2 mile. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30 pm every Wednesday Night.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results
Kelli Steil State Farm Insurance Night
May 8th, 2013

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

1. 99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 2. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 3. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 4. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 5. 17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 6. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 7. 17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 8. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 9. 10 Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 10. 51 Tyler VandeKamp (Ankeny); 11. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 12. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood)

Heat 1: 1. Groenendyk; 2. Carter; 3. Murray; 4. Greubel; 5. Pumphrey; 6. Dickey
Heat 2:
1. Shute; 2. VandeKamp; 3. Banks; 4. Gibson; 5. Sobbing; 6. Davis

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars
1. 7S Jason Minnehan (Churdan); 2. 81X Randy Killen (Des Moines); 3. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 4. 66 Jeff Joldersma (McClelland); 5.22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 6. 27J Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant); 7. 18 Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 8. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 9. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 10. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 11. 73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Pleasant Hill); 12. 7 Todd Phillips (Packwood); 13. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 14. 46B Michael Bilyeu (Indianola); 15. 87 Les Blakley (Fairfield); 16. 49 Leroy Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 17. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 18. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa): 19. 33Z Zack VanderBeek (New Sharon); 20. 77T Trent Jeanes (Chariton); 21. 17C Shane Paris (Keithsburg)

Heat 1: 1. Cook; 2. Reitzler; 3. Walker; 4. VanderBeek; 5. Pearson; 6. Phillips; 7. Bilyeu
Heat 2: 1. Killen; 2. Wood; 3. Joldersma; 4. Minnehan; 5. Jeanes; 6. Pinkerton; 7. Groenendyk
Heat 3: 1. Murty; 2. Van Gorp; 3. Stout; 4. Yaw Jr.; 5. Blakley; 6. Vogt; 7. Paris

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods

1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 57 Tyler Gross (Des Moines): 3. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 4. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 5. Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, KS); 6. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 7. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 8. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 9. 1 Rob Wilsey (Keokuk); 10. 34Z Cory Van Zante (Sully); 11. 10L Levi Layman (Muscatine); 12. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 13. 10 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 14. 29 Bill Livery (New Sharon); 15. 8J AJ Johnson (New Sharon); 16. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 17. 10R Ryan Fullenkamp (Bloomfield); 18. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 19. 33R DJ Robinson (Des Moines)

Heat 1: 1. VanDerWal; 2. Carter; 3. Gross; 4. Lowry; 5. T. Johnson; 6. VanDenBerg; 7. Livery
Heat 2: 1. Van Zante; 2. Hall; 3. Kates; 4. McDaniel; 5. Anderson; 6. Robinson
Heat 3: 1. Flander; 2. AJ Johnson; 3. Wilsey; 4. Fullenkamp; 5. Layman; DQ Heckart

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks
1. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2.69 Craig Brown (Eldon); 3. 52 Kevin Fee (Knoxville); 4. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 5. 96R Jamie Songer (Ankeny); 6. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 7. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 8. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English); 9. 21 Nick Ulin (Agency); 10. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 11. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 12. 224 Gina Greubel (Lacona); 13. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 14. 1 Blake Miller (Des Moines); 15. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 16. 79S Jason See (Albia); 17. 27C Cory Adams (Des Moines); 18. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield); 19. 2013X Rex Bonnett (Pleasant Hill)

Heat 1: 1. Hughes; 2. Fee; 3. Brown; 4. Greene; 5. Griffiths; 6. B. Bonnett; 7. Adams
Heat 2: 1. Nunnikhoven; 2. Songer; 3. Miller; 4. See; 5. Bunnell; 6. R. Bonnett
Heat 3: 1. Ulin; 2. Thrasher; 3. Hook; 4. Osweiler; 5. Porter; 6. Greubel

IMCA Sport Compacts
1. 2 Merv Chandler (Urbana); 2. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 3. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 4. 13 Alex Sampson (Iowa City); 5. 2M Matt Moore (Ottumwa); 6. 30 Shawn Cooney (Des Moines)

Heat : 1. Chandler; 2. Sampson; 3. Moore; 4. B. Whalen; 5. J. Whalen; 6. Cooney

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright © 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group