Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
May 1, 2013
Diercks Win Late Models On Last Lap Pass

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (May 1st, 2013) – All day temperatures were in the 70‘s in Oskaloosa but by the time the races started it was twenty to thirty degrees cooler and the wind was coming from the north. That didn’t stop the speedway from seeing some action on Watters Autoland Late Model Season Opener and Pro Line Building Company Free Popcorn Night.

Tom Darbyshire grabbed the early race lead in the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models feature but on lap 5, the power plant expired forcing him to a stop in turn 1 and the yellow flag to wave. Kevin Kile inherited the lead on the restart and lead until lap 9 when Todd Cooney grabbed the lead away. A few laps later on lap 12 the caution waved when Colby Springsteen spun out on the backstretch. Cooney looked to being pulling away but Spencer Diercks got by Kevin Kile on lap 16 and chased down Cooney. Diercks made the move and pass in turn 3 to take the victory over Todd Cooney. Kevin Kile, Andy Eckrich and Chad Cooney rounded out the top 5.

In the IMCA Sport Compacts feature it was John Whalen leading from start-to-finish in the 10 lap feature. Bill Whalen Jr. finish second, Merv Chandler was third, Alex Sampson was fourth and Matt Moore was fifth.

Donavon Nunnikhoven lead the first lap in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature but just after the completion of lap one, the caution waved for Dustin Griffiths in turn 4. On the restart, Nunnikhoven was passed by Mike Hughes  and Hughes looked to continue right where he left on Sunday in Knoxville but then the caution came out on lap 9 for Aaron Osweiler. Hughes held off any challenges to take the win over Bobby Greene, Danny Thrasher, Nunnikhoven and Justin Hook.

“Mighty Mouse” Jason McDaniel lead from start-to-finish in the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature but he had several challenges from Tony and AJ Johnson in the early going. Then late in the race it was Tony Johnson put challenges on McDaniel, McDaniel held off the challenges even after a caution on lap 14 that forced a green-white-checkered finish. McDaniel took the win with Tony Johnson in second. Eric Flander got by AJ Johnson for third meanwhile Carter VanDenBerg was fifth.

Randy Killen lead the first 7 laps in the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars feature before Zack Vanderbeek took the top spot away. Vanderbeek pulled away to grab the win over Nathan Wood, Randy Killen, Jason Cook and Corey Stout.

In the Musco Lighting IMCA Modified feature it was Brandon Banks lead the first lap before Bill Gibson grabbed the lead. Gibson lead until lap 6 when Todd Shute grabbed the top spot. The first yellow came out for Casey Greubel in turn 4 on lap nine and then the next one came out on lap 11 for Cory Sample, Bill Davis Jr. and Jeff Waterman on the frontstretch. On the restart, Shute was passed by Jesse Sobbing. Sobbing went on to take the win meanwhile Jacob Murray got by Todd Shute for 2nd. Cayden Carter was 4th and BillGibson was 5th.

Next Wednesday Night will be Kelli Steil State Farm Insurance Night plus IMCA Hobby Stock Special. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30 pm every Wednesday Night.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results
May 1st, 2013

KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models
1. 29 Spencer Diercks (Davenport); 2. 30 Todd Cooney (Des Moines); 3. 88 Kevin Kile (West Liberty); 4. 56 Andy Eckrich (Oxford); 5. 31 Chad Cooney (Des Moines); 6. 41 Matt Strassheim (Morning Sun); 7. 99D Darrel DeFrance (Marshalltown); 8. 77 Kurt Kile (Nichols); 9. 45 Tommy Elston (Keokuk); 10. 5X Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 11. 21 Ben Nading (Ankeny); 12. 24 Jacob Darbyshire (Morning Sun); 13. 15C Curt Schroeder (Ames); 14. 38 Colby Springsteen (Wapello); 15. 42 Tom Darbyshire (Morning Sun); DNS: 33 Nick Marolf (Moscow)

Heat 1:
1. Kurt Kile; 2. DeFrance; 3. T. Cooney; 4. Diercks; 5. Springsteen; 6. Vanderbeek; 7. Schroeder; 8. Marolf
Heat 2: 1. Kevin Kile; 2. Elston; 3. Strassheim; 4. T. Darbyshire; 5. Eckrich; 6. C. Cooney; 7. Nading; 8. J. Darbyshire

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds
1. 99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 2. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 3. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 4. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 5. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 6. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 7. 13 Matt Waugh (Des Moines); 8. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 9. 51 Tyler VandeKamp (Ankeny); 10. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 11. 17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 12. 17 Tyler Groenenedyk (Oskaloosa); 13. 00 Cory Sample (Winnemucca, NV); 14. 71W Jeff Waterman (Quincy, IL); DNS: 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 7W Mark Widmar (Ottumwa)

Heat 1: 1. Waterman; 2. Sobbing; 3. Davis; 4. Carter; 5. Banks; 6. VandeKamp; 7. Groenenedyk; 8. Waugh
Heat 2: 1. Gibson; 2. Shute; 3. Murray; 4. Sample; 5. Pumphrey; 6. Greubel; 7. Schroeder; 8. Widmar

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars
1. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 2. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 3. 81X Randy Killen (Des Moines); 4. 27J Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant); 5. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 6. 18 Kris Walker (Oskaloosa); 7. B25 Shane Richardson (Morning Sun); 8. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 9. 7 Todd Phillips (Packwood); 10. 77T Trent Jeanes (Chariton); 11. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 12. 68 Cole Simmons (Morning Sun); 13. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 14. 1K Tom Killen (Des Moines); 15. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 16. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 17. 73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Pleasant Hill)

Heat 1: 1. R. Killen; 2. Van Gorp; 3. Simmons; 4. Richardson; 5. Wood; 6. Phillips; 7. Pinkerton; 8. Pearson; 9. Welch
Heat 2: 1. Vanderbeek; 2. Cook; 3. Vogt; 4. Walker; 5. T. Killen; 6. Yaw; 7. Jeanes; 8. Stout

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods
1. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 2. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 3. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 4. 8J AJ Johnson (New Sharon); 5. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 6. 23K Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, KS); 7. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 8. 10R Ryan Fullenkamp (Bloomfield); 9. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 10. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 11. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 12. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 13. 10 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 14. 57K Chris Ammenhauser (Ottumwa); 15. 1 Rob Wilsey (Keokuk); DNS: 29 Bill Livery (New Sharon)

Heat 1: 1. T. Johnson; 2. VanDenBerg; 3. Lowry; 4. Flander; 5. A. Johnson; 6. Wilsey; 7. Anderson; 8. Livery
Heat 2: 1. McDaniel; 2. VanDerWal; 3. Heckart; 4. Kates; 5. Hall; 6. Carter; 7. Ammenhauser; 8. Fullenkamp

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks
1. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 3. Danny Thrasher (Agency); 4. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 5. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 6. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield); 7. 96R Jamie Songer (Ankeny); 8. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 9. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 10. 27C Cory Adams (Des Moines); 11. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English); 12. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa)

Heat 1: 1. Griffiths; 2. Songer; 3. Adams; 4. Porter; 5. Osweiler; 6. Bunnell
Heat 2: 1. Nunnikhoven; 2. Hughes; 3. Hook; 4. Bonnett; 5. Greene; 6. Thrasher

IMCA Sport Compacts
1. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 2. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 3. 2 Merv Chandler (Vinton); 4. 13 Alex Sampson (Iowa City); 5. 2M Matt Moore (Ottumwa); 6. 30 Shawn Cooney (Des Moines); 7. 04 Trent Orwig (Blakesburg)

Heat :
1. J. Whalen; 2. Sampson; 3. Chandler; 4. Moore; 5. B. Whalen; 6. Cooney; 7. Orwig

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright © 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group