Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
August 1, 2012
by Tony Paris
Shute scores first checkers at SIS in 2012

OSKALOOSA, Iowa -- Racing action resumed after a week off due to the heat the action was as hot as ever with the night sponsored by Plain Metal & Salvage and Plain Motorsports, both of Webster City along with Sigourney Tractor Implement/STI and NAPA Auto Parts of Sigourney. The first feature was the Autocrafters/Whalen Racing IMCA Sport Compacts would see John Whalen and Bill Whalen Jr starting on the front row and they would battle for the lead on the first 2 laps with John leading both laps. Merv Chandler would find his way around both of them on lap 3 to take the lead. Chandler would go on and take the win with Bill Whalen Jr in 2nd, John Whalen in 3rd, Jim Garrett in 4th and Kevin Garrett in 5th.

Tracy Elevator IMCA Hobby Stocks would see Curt Hook lead the first 2 laps before Craig Brown would make the pass for the lead on lap 3. Brown would hold on to the lead until Dustin Griffiths would find his way up front on lap 9. Griffiths would take the win over Brown, Danny Thrasher, Shannon Anderson and Kevin Fee.The Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods would see Ryan Fullenkamp take the lead and start to pull away until Point Leader Jesse Sobbing would chase him down and make the pass coming to the white flag. Sobbing would take the win which learned that was his 29th win of the 2012 season for IMCA Points. Fullenkamp settled for 2nd, Eric Flander was 3rd, Curtis Vanderwal was 4th and Brett Lowry was 5th.

In the Carter Manufacturing IMCA Stock Cars it was Todd Reitzler leading lap 1 but shortly after the yellow would come out for Nick Batterson on the backstretch. On the restart, Reitzler would continue to lead until Damon Murty would sneak by on the bottom on lap 4. Murty would lead the remaining laps to take the win. Nathan Wood, Reitzler, Corey Stout and Alan Van Gorp would round out the top 5.

The final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature and it was Bill Davis Jr leading the first lap. "Toddzilla" Todd Shute and Davis would rub some paint on lap 2 before it was Shute taking the lead. Shute would lead the remaining laps and hold off a late race challenge from Jacob Murray to take the win. Murray was 2nd, Andrew Schroeder was 3rd, Cayden Carter was 4th and Brandon Banks was 5th.

Next up for the Southern Iowa Speedway will be the 17th Annual Musco Front Row Challenge on Monday and the 11th Annual Caseys General Store Ultimate Challenge on Tuesday Night part of the Southern Iowa Sprint Week. The next weekly IMCA Points Night will be Wednesday August 22nd when it will be McDonald's Night/Prairie City & Monroe Night and Youth Soccer Night featuring a special appearance from Ron McDonald. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm.

For more information about the Sprint Car Shows check out and for the weekly racing check out

Autocrafters/Whalen Racing IMCA Sport Compacts

Feature: 1. 2 Merv Chandler (Vinton); 2. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 3. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 4. 26J Jim Garrett (Ottumwa); 5. 29 Kevin Garrett (Bloomfield); 6. 04 Trent Orwig (Blakesburg); 7. 5 Matt Beal (Oskaloosa); DNS: 59R Ronald MccLish (Union)

Heat: Chandler, B. Whalen, J. Garrett, K. Garrett, J. Whalen, Beal, MccLish, Orwig (DNS)

Tracy Elevator IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature: 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 2. 69 Craig Brown (Eldon); 3. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 4. 78 Shannon Anderson (Urbandale); 5. 52 Kevin Fee (Knoxville); 6. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully); 7. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 8. 6 Jarred Gann (Sigoruney); 9. 18H Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa): 10. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 11. 73 Aaron Martin (Sigourney)

Heat #1: Hook, Nunnikhoven, Griffiths, Hughes, Brown, Gann

Heat #2: Anderson, Greene, Thrasher, Martin, Fee

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods

Feature: 1. 99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 2. 10R Ryan Fullenkamp (Bloomfield); 3. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City); 4. 1 Curtis Vanderwal (Oskaloosa); 5. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 6. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 7. 7 Carter Vandenberg (Oskaloosa); 8. 95 Brad Iverson (Grinnell); 9. 43 Jeremiah Jones (Eldon); DNS: 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville)

Heat: Fullenkamp, Flander, Vanderwal, Sobbing, Johnson, Vandenberg, Lowry, Jones, Iverson, Gibson (DNS)

Carter's Manufacturing IMCA Stock Cars

Feature: 1. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 2. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 3. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 4. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 5. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 6. 7 Todd Phillips (Packwood); 7. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 8. 55 Steve Hill (Des Moines); 9. 73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Des Moines); 10. 60 Clay Deppe (Kellogg); 11. 29 Matt Greiner (Washington); 12. 8X Nick Batterson (Eddyville)

Heat #1: Murty, Greiner, Reitzler, Hill, Stout, Phillips

Heat #2: Wood, Van Gorp, Pinkerton, Yaw, Deppe, Batterson

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

Feature: 1. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 2. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 3. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 4. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 5. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 6. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 7. 7W Mark Widmar (Ottumwa); 8. 12H Dakota Hayden (Wilton)

Heat: Davis, Shute, Schroeder, Carter, Banks, Widmar, Hayden, Murray

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group