Like us on FacebookHome
News Schedule Sponsors Downloads Points Results Photos Info Rules Contact
June 22, 2012


BY: Tony Paris
(Oskaloosa, Iowa)  It was Musco Lighting Mid-Season Championships Night plus the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series IMCA Late Models in attendance to do battle on the big half mile. Funs was treated to some awesome side-by-side action in all five classes and the A-modified class having the night off and will return next week and the final checkers flew before the rain and before 10PM.

First feature of the night was the Autocrafters/Whalen Racing IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Brad Chandler would take the early lead but on lap 3, Brad Chandler would now have to deal with his dad Merv Chandler they would rub with each other and it would be the racing veteran Merv Chandler taking the lead and going on to the his 6th win of the year at SIS. Brad Chandler would settle for 2nd, Bill Whalen Jr was 3rd, Cody Thompson was 4th and Ricky Kay was 5th.

In the Carter's Manufacturing IMCA Stock Car feature it was the caution coming out before a lap was completed when Leroy Groenendyk got sideways and forcing Zack Vanderbeek to slide, neither car would have damage and be able to continue. Alan Van Gorp would jump out to the lead and appeared to be going on to the win until Damon Murty and Matt Greiner would battle for the lead. Murty would slip up allowing Greiner and Van Gorp to battle for the lead and it was Greiner sneaking by on lap 10. Greiner would go on and take the win, his 2nd of the year at SIS. Van Gorp, Vanderbeek, Murty and Nathan Wood would round out the top 5.

Next up was the Tracy Elevator IMCA Hobby Stock feature and it was Jamie Songer getting out front early and not looking back as Songer would go on to his 1st win of the year at SIS. Last Week's Feature Winner Bobby Greene was 2nd, Points Leader Shannon Anderson was 3rd, Danny Thrasher was 4th and Mike Hughes was 5th.

The Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods feature would be a caution filled feature. Bryan Weyer would jump out the early lead but just after 1 lap was scored the caution would come out for Bill Gibson going off turn 3. After another lap was completed the caution would come out for Levi Laymon coming to a stop in turn 2. Weyer wouldn't let that bother him but after 2 more laps were completed the caution would come out for debris on the topside of turn 2. The following 2 laps the caution would fly again for debris on lap 5 and lap 6. Weyer would lead the remaining 3 laps despite being chased down by Jesse Sobbing. Weyer took his 3rd win of the year at SIS, Sobbing would take runner up honors. Curtis VanDerWal, Carter VanDenBerg, Jason Hall and Tony Johnson finished 3rd through 5th.

The final feature of the night was the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series for IMCA Late Models 35 lap feature. Ray Guss Jr. and Denny Eckrich would start on the front row and it was Denny Eckrich jumping out to the lead and it appeared nothing was going to slow him down not even lap traffic until the only race caution came out on lap 20 for Justin Diercks sitting up in the topside of turn 2.
Eckrich would resume command and go on and take his 2nd win of the Deery Season. Ray Guss Jr. was 2nd, Todd Cooney was 3rd, Jeff Aikey was 4th and Andy Eckrich was 5th. Sunoco Race Fuels $250 bonus goes to Jeff Mitrisin.

Next Wednesday Night the Southern Iowa Speedway will be Titan Machinery Pajama Night and also residents of Knoxville can get in for $5 which will feature all 5 weekly classes that include the Modifieds, Stock Cars, Sport Mods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts. Hot Laps at 7 pm and Racing at 7:30 pm. The following Wednesday will see an early start time as the Stock Cars will have teh Budweiser Stockcar Shootout and Fireworks after Races that night so Hot Laps will be at 5:30 pm and Racing at 6 pm.

Autocrafters/Whalen Racing IMCA Sport Compacts
Feature: 1. 2 Merv Chandler (Vinton, IA); 2. 26 Brad Chandler (Cedar Rapids, IA); 3. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside, IA); 4. 3C Cody Thompson (Kinsworth, IA); 5. 40K Ricky Kay (Wheatland, IA); 6. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth, IA); 7. 04 Trent Orwig (Blakesburg, IA); DNS: 59R Ronald McCish (Union, IA)

Heat: B. Chandler, M. Chandler, Kay, B. Whalen, J. Whalen, Thompson, McCish, Orwig

Carter's Manufacturing IMCA Stock Cars
Feature: 1. 29 Matt Greiner (Washington, IA); 2. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Knoxville, IA); 3. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon, IA); 4. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea, IA); 5. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney, IA); 6. 566 Jim Lynch (Donnellson, IA); 7. 68 Cole Simmons (Morning Sun, IA); 8. 30J Alex Buffington (Wapello, IA); 9 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell, IA); 10. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa, IA); 11. 7 Todd Phillips (Packwood, IA); 12. 55 Steve Hill (Des Moines, IA); 13. 49G Leroy Groenendyk (Oskaloosa, IA); 14. 39 Clayton Garden (Oskaloosa, IA); 15. 73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Des Moines, IA); DNS: 11 Scott Seaman (Des Moines, IA)

Heat #1: Greiner, Murty, Reitzler, Groenendyk, Simmons, Hill, Buffington, Yaw
Heat #2: Wood, Stout, Lynch, Van Gorp, Vanderbeek, Phillips, Garden, Seaman

Tracy Elevator IMCA Hobby Stocks
Feature: 1. 96R Jamie Songer (Ankeny, IA); 2. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville, IA); 3. 78 Shannon Anderson (Urbandale, IA); 4. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency, IA); 5. 18H Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa, IA); 6. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa, IA); 7. 52 Kevin Fee (Knoxville, IA); 8. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully, IA); 9. 21 Nick Ulin (Agency, IA); 10. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa, IA); 11. 69 Craig Brown (Eldon, IA); 12. 6 Jarred Gann (Sigourney, IA); 13. 20T Richard Yaw II (Pleasant Hill, IA)

Heat #1: Anderson, Songer, Greene, Nunnikhoven, Fee, Yaw II, Gann
Heat #2: Hughes, Hook, Griffiths, Thrasher, Brown, Ulin

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods
Feature: 1. 27 Bryan Weyer (Des Moines, IA); 2. 99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood, IA); 3. 1 Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa, IA); 4. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa, IA); 5. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell, IA); 6. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa, IA); 7. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma, IA); 8. 12 Eric Flander (Barnes City, IA); 9. 48R Adam Bell (Kolona, IA); 10. 8 Tom Lathrop (Ottumwa, IA); 11. 1D Bobby Davis III (Des Moines, IA); 12. 30X Josh Modde (Des Moines, IA); 13. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa, IA); 14. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon, IA); 15. 01 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa, IA); 16. 10L Levi Laymon (Muscatine, IA); 17. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville, IA) ; 18. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center, IA)

Heat #1: Flander, McDaniel, VanDerWal, Gibson, Rust, Laymon, Modde, Lathrop, Carter, Bell
Heat #2: Weyer, Sobbing, Lowry, Johnson, VanDenBerg, Davis III, Hall, Heckart

Deery Brothers Summer Series IMCA Late Models
Feature: 1. 50 Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA); 2. 58 Ray Guss Jr. (Milan, IL); 3. 30 Todd Cooney (Des Moines, IA); 4. 77 Jeff Aikey (Cedar Falls, IA); 5. 56 Andy Eckrich (Oxford, IA); 6. 14 Mike Murphy Jr. (Colona, IL); 7. 77X Kurt Kile (Nichols, IA); 8. 93 Jay Johnson (West Burlington, IA); 9. 29 Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA); 10. 99D Darrel DeFrance (Marshalltown, IA); 11. 88 Kevin Kile (West Liberty, IA); 12. 38 Colby Springsteen (Wapello, IA); 13. 15K Justin Kay (Wheatland, IA); 14. 6 Jay Chenoweth (Wapello, IA); 15. 40 Joel Callahan (Dubuque, IA); 16. 5J Jeff Mitrisin (Oskaloosa, IA); 17. 16 Tyler Bruening (Decorah, IA); 18. 30D Justin Diercks (Davenport, IA); 19. 33 Paul Glendenning (Mount Ayr, IA); 20. 3 Kevin Sather (Ankeny, IA); DNS: 31 Jason Utter (Columbus Junction, IA); DNS: 45K Mike Klinkhammer (West Branch, IA)

Heat #1: A. Eckrich, Ku. Kile, Callahan, Aikey, Mitrisin, Glendenning, Kay, Bruening
Heat #2: Murphy, Johnson, Guss, S. Diercks, Sather, Ke. Kile, J. Diercks
Heat #3: D. Eckrich, Cooney, Utter, Springsteen, DeFrance, Chenoweth, Klinkhammer

News | Schedule | Sponsors | Downloads | Points | Results | Photos | Track Info | Rules | Contact | Home
Copyright 2016 Southern Iowa Speedway   |   Powered by Nitroquest Media Group