Hughes Takes First Win at Osky

Print this page
June 29, 2016  |  by Jeremy Fox

Wednesday Night was the final tune up for the 21st Annual Budweiser Stock Cars Shootout and the both the Hobby Stocks and Stock Cars did not disappoint the fans in attendance. 49 cars checked in to tame the monster half mile.

Cody VanDusen (IMCA Sport Compacts), Colt Mather (IMCA Modifieds), Dustin Griffiths (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Curtis VanDerWal (IMCA SportMods) all made a return visit to victory lane. Mike Hughes (IMCA Stock Cars) take his first win at Osky this season.

First feature of the night was the ten lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature event and just like last week, Brad Havel grabbed the early lead. Havel and Cody VanDusen got battle for the lead and VanDusen led laps five and six. Havel reclaimed the lead on lap seven and just after the completion of lap eight the caution came out when Bill Whalen Jr experienced mechanical issues on the front stretch. Havel saw VanDusen on his back bumper on the restart, VanDusen made it worth it as he took the lead away and cruised on to take his second win at Osky. Havel finished second, Shane Evans was third, Ryan Havel was fourth and James Roose was fifth.

August Bach started outside the front row of the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature and he took full advantage by grabbing the race lead but battled with Dustin Griffiths and Danny Thrasher early. Bach held them off and look to be getting a comfortable lead only to see the caution come out with two laps to go when Kirk Puttmann came to a stop in turn three. Bach had Griffiths and Thrasher on his back bumper, Bach and Griffiths got a great restart and had a wild finish. Griffiths made a move going in turn one and took the lead exiting turn two but Bach returned the favor in turns three and four. Bach out dueled Griffiths to the line but in post race tech inspection, Bach was disqualifed for his rev limiter box that handed the win over to Griffiths. Travis Bunnell, Thrasher, Nick Ulin and Bobby Greene rounded out the top five.

Scott Dickey grabbed the led early in the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 16 lap feature and got out to a sizeable lead but Colt Mather began to chase him down just before the only caution came out on lap 11 for Greg Cox experiencing mechanical issues in turn three. Dickey and Mather battled for the lead until Mather finally took it away and cruised on to his third win. Dickey settled for second with Andrew Schroeder in third, Ricky Thornton Jr in fourth and Jason Hall in fifth.

In the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature event, It was Mike Hughes grabbing the lead early from his second row starting spot. Hughes had early battles from Todd Reitzler but he held off those challenges to go on to take his first win at Osky in 2016 ahead of Damon Murty, Louis Lynch, Derrick Agee and Jason See.

Final feature of the night was the 16 lap KBOE Radio IMCA SportMods feature event and it would be Danny Brau wrestled the lead away from Steven Berry on lap one. Eric Flander though worked his way up and grabbed the lead away on lap two. Flander looked comfortable out front but the caution came out on lap eight for Cory Van Zante in turn two. Flander continuned to lead until Curtis VanDerWal worked his way through the field from his ninth place starting spot to take the lead away on lap 12. VanDerWal went on to take his fifth win of the season ahead of Flander, Austin Paul, Matthew Van Gelder and Jason McDaniel.

Next Week the Southern Iowa Speedway will be busy as the 21st Annual IMCA Budweiser Stock Car Shootout take to the monster half mile on Tuesday and Wednesday Nights. On Tuesday, Qualifying night for Stock Cars, SportMods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts and on Wednesday night last chance qualifying and main events for Stock Cars, SportMods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts. Modifieds will run a complete show on July 6th. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm both nights of the Shootout.

For more information check out or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
Kelli Steil State Farm Insurance Night
June 29th, 2016

IMCA Modifieds

- 1. 8 Colt Mather (Keswick); 2. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 3. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 4. 20RT Ricky Thornton Jr (Harcourt); 5. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 6. 162 Greg Cox (Kellogg)

Heat - 1. Mather; 2. Dickey; 3. Schroeder; 4. Cox; 5. Hall; 6. Thronton

IMCA Stock Cars

- 1. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 3. 71 Louis Lynch (Glenwood, MO); 4. 14 Derrick Agee (Moberly, MO); 5. 79S Jason See (Albia); 6. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell): 7. 7 Randy Hemsley (Sigourney); 8. 54 Mike Brown (New Sharon); 9. 98B Michael Bilyeu (Indianola); 10. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 11. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa)

Heat 1 - 1. Hughes; 2. Murty; 3. Lynch; 4. Bilyeu; 5. Welch; 6. Pearson
Heat 2- 1. Agee; 2. Reitzler; 3. Brown; 4. Hemsley; DQ See

IMCA SportMods

- 1. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 2. 12 Eric Flander (Pella); 3. A5 Austin Paul (Monroe); 4. 16 Matthew VanGelder (Pella); 5. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 6. 20 Danny Brau (Brooklyn); 7. 26 Scott Brau (Brooklyn); 8. 80 Jim Walker (Mystic); 9. 55R Steven Berry (Ottumwa); 10. 7G Dennis Gates (Claypool, AZ); 11. 34Z Cory Van Zante (Sully); 12. 84B Trent Brink (Bussey)

Heat 1 - 1. McDaniel; 2. Flander; 3. Van Zante; 4. Danny Brau; 5. Berry; 6. Gates
Heat 2 - 1. VanDerWal; 2. VanGelder; 3. Scott Brau; 4. Walker; 5. Paul; 6. Brink

IMCA Hobby Stocks

- 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 2. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 3. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 4. 21 Nick Ulin (Agency); 5. 32T Bobby Greene (Tracy); 6. 4 Bradley Graham (Brooklyn); 7. 14 Christian Huffman (New Sharon); 8. 7 Kirk Puttmann (Keota); DNS/9. 7K Kelsie Spilman (Hedrick); DQ 19X August Bach (Newton)

Heat - 1. Griffiths; 2. Bach; 3. Ulin; 4. Thrasher; 5. Graham; 6. Bunnell; 7. Huffman; 8. Puttmann; 9. Spilman; 10. Greene

IMCA Sport Compacts

- 1. 53 Cody VanDusen (Atalissa); 2. 11H Brad Havel (Iowa City); 3. 92E Shane Evans (Iowa City); 4. 0 Ryan Havel (Iowa City); 5. 86R James Roose (Grandview); 6. 02 John Gill (Marshalltown); 7. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 8. 23B Jason Breuklander (Oskaloosa); 9. 00W Bill Whalen Jr (Riverside); DNS/10. 5P Ryan Pohlmeier (Colfax); DNS/11. 41 Nathan Moody (Beacon)

Heat 1 - 1. John Whalen; 2. Breuklander; 3. Gill; 4. Pohlmeier; 5. Evans; 6. Moody
Heat 2 - 1. VanDusen; 2. Brad Havel; 3. Roose; 4. Ryan Havel; 5. Bill Whalen Jr.