Whalen, Livezey, Carter, Griffiths and Shryock Take Feature Wins on KISS 101.5 Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway

Print this page
May 18, 2016

Whalen, Livezey, Carter, Griffiths and Shryock Take Feature Wins on KISS 101.5 Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway
By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (May 18th, 2016) - After taking last week off because of mother nature not cooperating it was back to racing at the Southern Iowa Speedway for KISS 101.5 FM of Ottumwa Night. 64 cars checked in to tame the monster half mile to even the total of races as rain outs at four.

Feature winners included Bill Whalen (IMCA Sport Compacts), Colton Livezey (IMCA SportMods), Cayden Carter (IMCA Stock Cars), Dustin Griffiths (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Kelly Shryock (IMCA Modifieds).

First feature of the night was the ten lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature. Lincoln Schrock and Bill Whalen led the field to green and the driver nicknamed "Happy Feet" grabbed the top spot. Whalen pulled out to a commanding lead and never looked back in route to taking his first win of the season at Osky. Tenth place starter Cody VanDusen worked his way up to second by lap eight but came up short chasing down Whalen. Steven Struck moved up from ninth to third, Lukas Yoder was fourth and Jake Benischek was fifth.

Colton Livezey and Matthew VanGelder started on the front row in the 16 lap IMCA SportMods feature event. Livezey grabbed the lead and Brayton Carter grabbed second. Livezey looked to be comfortable out front until lap traffic on lap ten, Livezey did not let that deny him his first win at the Southern Iowa Speedway. Carter held off Curtis VanDerWal for second, Jason McDaniel and Carter VanDenBerg rounded out the top five.

In the IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature, Louis Lynch took the early lead ahead of Nathan Wood and Donnie Pearson. Lynch had to hold off several early race challenges from Wood but then Wood opened the door on lap seven for Derrick Agee and Todd Inman to get by for second and third. Just after the completion of that lap the caution came out for debris in turn one. Lynch now had to hold off Agee and Inman, that was short lived as Agee grabbed the top spot on lap 11. Cayden Carter, started seventh and worked his way to fourth on lap 11 and then third on lap 12. Agee saw the Carter work his way to second by lap 14 and knew he would have to hangout for the remaining distance. Carter took the lead away coming to the white flag and went on to take his third feature win in a row at Osky. Agee, Lynch, Damon Murty and Inman finished second through fifth respectively.

Bradley Graham and Mike Kincaid started the 16 lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature event on the front row and by lap one it was Kincaid grabbing the top spot. Steve Allen took the lead on lap three but Dustin Griffiths worked his way from tenth to lead by lap five. Griffiths went on to take his second win of the season in Osky ahead of Bill Bonnett, Allen, Danny Thrasher and Brad Stephens.

Final feature of the night was the IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature event and it was Jason Hall grabbing the lead ahead of Dennis LaVeine. With Hall out front and LaVeine knocking on his back side, Josh Foster was charging up to make it a three car battle for the top spot but on lap seven the caution came out for Foster in turn one. Hall had LaVeine and Shryock right behind him on the restart, Shryock took second away and then took the lead away from Hall on lap nine. Cayden Carter worked his way up to take second from Hall on lap ten. Shryock and Carter ran one and two but then a caution came out just after the completion of lap 18 forcing a green-white-checkered finish. Shryock held off Carter to take the feature win. Colt Mather edged Zack Vanderbeek out for third and LaVeine came home fifth.

Next Wednesday Night, there will be extra money on the line in all five IMCA Classes thanks to the night's sponsor Bill and Ray's Truck Repair & Wrecker Service. There will also be a Candy Toss at Intermission for the youngsters, thanks to Bill and Ray's. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

The following week, there will be no racing on Wednesday as the Speedway will be hosting the Lucas Oil MLRA Late Models on Thursday June 2nd. That night is sponsored by Shawn's Hay Grinding, Supreme Lawn & Landscape, KBOE 104.9 FM, Pepsi Mahaska Bottling, Vander Beek Truck Accessories and Ullrich Ford. It will also be a Weekly Points Night for all five IMCA Classes. On June 2nd, Hot Laps and Racing will be start 15 minutes earlier. 


For more information check out Oskyspeedway.com or Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night Facebook.

Southern Iowa Speedway
May 18th, 2016

IMCA Modifieds

- 1. 3 Kelly Shryock (Fertile); 2. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 3. 8 Colt Mather (Keswick); 4. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 5. 71 Dennis LaVeine (West Burlington); 6. 77 Josh Foster (Newton); 7. 22 Brandon Banks (Washington); 8. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 9. 9 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 10. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood); 11. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); DNS 11 Jerry Pilcher (Bloomfield)

Heat 1 - 1. Dickey; 2. Carter; 3. Hall; 4. Mather; 5. Groenendyk; DNS Banks
Heat 2 - 1. Foster; 2. Shryock; 3. Schroeder; 4. Vanderbeek; 5. LaVeine; DNS Pilcher

IMCA Stock Cars

- 1. 10CC Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 2. 14 Derrick Agee (Moberly, MO); 3. 71 Louis Lynch (Glenwood, MO); 4. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 5. 5T Todd Inman (Des Moines); 6. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 7. 76 Trent Partridge (Elk Horn); 8. 54 Mike Brown (New Sharon); 9. 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); 10. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 11. 77N Daniel Hilsabeck (Adel); 12. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 13. 57 Keith Kuder (Oskaloosa); 14. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa)

Heat 1- 1. Wood; 2. Inman; 3. Agee; 4. Partridge; 5. Welch; 6. Kuder
Heat 2- 1. Reitzler; 2. Hilsabeck; 3. Lynch; 4. Carter; 5. Murty; 6. Hughes

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

- 1. 29 Colton Livezey (New Sharon); 2. 01 Brayton Carter (Oskaloosa); 3. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 4. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 5. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 6. A5 Austin Paul (Monroe); 7. 9A Logan Anderson (Eddyville); 8. 16 Matthew VanGelder (Pella); 9. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 10. 34Z Cory Van Zante (Sully); 11. 20 Danny Brau (Brooklyn); 12. 26 Scott Brau (Brooklyn); 13. 55R Steven Berry (Ottumwa)

Heat 1 - 1. McDaniel; 2. VanGelder; 3. VanDerWal; 4. Paul; 5. Anderson; 6. Scott Brau; 7. Berry
Heat 2 - 1. Carter; 2. VanDenBerg; 3. Livezey; 4. Lowry; 5. Van Zante; 6. Danny Brau

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Feature - 1. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Hedrick); 2. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 3. 3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 4. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 5. 55 Brad Stephens (Bussey); 6. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 7. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 8. 19X August Bach (Newton); 9. 43J John Irwin (Hedrick); 10. 4 Bradley Graham (Brooklyn); 11. 12 Mike Kincaid (Cincinnati); 12. 14 Christian Huffman (New Sharon); 13. 9 Jared Stephens (Bussey)

Heat 1 - 1. Bunnell; 2. Bonnett; 3. Brad Stephens; 4. Griffiths; 5. Kincaid; 6. Irwin; 7. Jared Stephens
Heat 2 - 1. Thrasher; 2. Greene; 3. Allen; 4. Bach; 5. Graham; 6. Huffman

IMCA Sport Compacts
- 1. 00W Bill Whalen Jr (Riverside); 2. 53 Cody VanDusen (Atalissa); 3. 24 Steven Struck (Atalissa); 4. 13 Lukas Yoder (Kalona); 5. 3 Jake Benischek (Durant); 6. 92E Shane Evans (Iowa City); 7. 23B Jason Breuklander (Oskaloosa); 8. 9H Levi Heath (Wilton); 9. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 10. 11H Brad Havel (Iowa City); 11. 99 Lincoln Schrock (Wellman); 12. 03 Cameron Rogers (Washington)

Heat 1 - 1. Breuklander; 2. VanDusen; 3. Benischek; 4. Schrock; 5. Heath; 6. Evans

Heat 2 - 1. Struck; 2. Bill Whalen; 3. Havel; 4. Yoder; 5. John Whalen; 6. Rogers