Carter Doubles Up, Paul, Evans and Mather First Time Winners at Osky

Print this page
August 5, 2015

Carter Doubles Up, Paul, Evans and Mather First Time Winners at Osky
By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (August 5th, 2015) After taking the last couple of weeks off for a scheduled week off and mother nature, the Southern Iowa Speedway roared back to life on Supreme Lawn & Landscape, Van Wall Equipment, Farmers Support America, KBOE Radio, Mahaska Bottling Company, Dynamic Drivelines and Autism Society of Iowa Night. 79 cars checked in to tame the monster. Three sprint cars were on hand to get shook down for the upcoming Knoxville Nationals and Front Row Challenge.

Cayden Carter doubled up, by taking wins in the IMCA Late Models and IMCA Stock Cars. Austin Paul (IMCA SportMods), Shane Evans (IMCA Sport Compacts) and Colt Mather (IMCA Modifieds) take their first wins at Osky in 2015. Craig Brown makes a return visit in the IMCA Hobby Stocks. Damian Hamann took the Iowa Sportsman Series.

First feature of the night was the 20 lap Iowa Sportsman Series feature and it was Clayton Webster grabbing the lead early from his second row starting spot. Webster saw Damian Hamann work his way by on lap six and by lap seven, Cole Jackson entered the battle. Hamann and Jackson began to battle for the lead but Hamann was able to hold off every challenge from Jackson to take the win. Jackson finished second, Gene Tish was third, Darin Dezwarte was fourth and Webster came home in fifth.

Zack Vanderbeek started outside row two but by the end of lap one in the 18 lap Budwiser IMCA Stock Car feature, Vanderbeek was in the lead. Vanderbeek saw Todd Reitzler, Mike Hughes, Cayden Carter and Jason See battling for position behind him. Vanderbeek led until the only race caution came out on lap 12 for See in turn three. On the restart, Vanderbeek saw Hughes and Carter sneak on by. Hughes and Carter battled it out for the lead with Hughes holding on to the lead until the final turn. Carter made the move and took the win away from Hughes. Vanderbeek, Reitzler and Donnie Pearson rounded out the top five.

Bill Whalen grabbed the lead early in the IMCA Sport Compacts ten lap feature and appeared to be heading on to the win. However, just after the completion of lap seven, heavy smoke came out of Whalen's car when his engine expired forcing the yellow flag to come out. That gave the lead over to Shane Evans and he held of Trent Orwig and Ryan Havel to take the win. John Girdley and Tim Bevins finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Danny Brau and Charlie Webber started on the front row of the 16 lap KBOE Radio IMCA Northern SportMods feature but it was neither of them grabbing the lead it was Austin Paul. Paul looked comfortable out front as he cruised on to take his first at Osky. Cory Van Zante finished second, Jason McDaniel finished third, Brett Lowry was fourth and Curtis VanDerWal was fifth.

Colt Mather wrestled the lead away in the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 18 lap feature before Tyler Groenendyk and Scott Dickey. Mather won by a full straight-away over Dickey. Cayden Carter took third ahead of Tyler Groenendyk and Carter VanDenBerg.

Just as the field was coming to the green the caution flag came out in the Pespi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks 15 lap feature when Jared Stephens, Brandon Potts, Steve Allen and Bobby Greene all got together. All of them were able to continue. When the race restarted it was Craig Brown grabbing the lead on lap one. Brown saw the caution come out on lap six for debris in turn three. Brown went on to take his second win at Osky in 2015. Travis Bunnell finished runner up. Dustin Griffiths, Dale Porter and Aaron Martin finished third through fifth.

Final feature of the night was the IMCA Late Models 20 lap feature but before a single lap was scored the caution came out when John Vandenberg spun exiting turn four collecting Todd Cooney, both cars exited to the pits. Curtis Glover took the top spot early but on lap four, Glover saw heavy smoke coming out from his car and exited on lap five. Cayden Carter inherited the lead and never looked back as he took the checkers in commanding fashion. Paul Nagle, Derek Liles, Todd Johnson and Jenna Johnson rounded out the top five.

Southern Iowa Speedway will again take two weeks off from weekly action and will return Wednesday August 26th for Kiss 101.5 Night. Hot Laps at 6:30pm Racing at 7:15pm.

Racing action however will take place at the Southern Iowa Speedway as the National Sprint League makes an appearance during the 20th Annual Front Row Challenge on Monday for $20,000 to win. Rain Date is Tuesday Night.

For more information, Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night on facebook, check out or call Mike Van Genderen at 641-521-0330.