Whalen, Carter, VanDerWal, Dickey and Griffiths Take Dave Lowry Memorial

Print this page
July 9, 2015

Whalen, Carter, VanDerWal, Dickey and Griffiths Take Dave Lowry Memorial
By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 8th, 2015) As many questioned if there was racing because of pop up rain showers near the track on Wednesday, the Southern Iowa Speedway only got sprinkles and the Dave Lowry Memorial sponsored by Monte Motor Parts and Nutz Graphix went on as scheduled. 63 cars sign in plus Nutz Graphix drivers had an autograph session before the race and the IMCA Hobby Stocks had their turn at a King of the Hill.

Feature winners on the night was Bill Whalen (IMCA Sport Compacts), Cayden Carter (IMCA Stock Cars), Curtis VanDerWal (IMCA Northern SportMods), Scott Dickey (IMCA Modifieds) and Dustin Griffiths (IMCA Hobby Stocks). Danny Thrasher outdueled Griffiths in the Hobby Stock King of the Hill.

In the Hobby Stock King of the Hill, Aaron Martin, Thrasher and Griffiths all three got wins with Thrasher getting four wins so Thrasher got an automatic bid to the final that meant Aaron Martin and Dustin Griffiths raced in which Griffiths took the win. Thrasher outdueled Griffiths in the final, Thrasher pocked $100 meanwhile Griffiths got $50 for his efforts.

First feature of the night was the 12 lap IMCA Sport Compacts feature event and it was John Girdley leading the opening lap. "Happy Feet" Bill Whalen Jr took the lead away on lap two though. Whalen lead the remaining laps and held off a late race charge from Ryan Walker to take his 3rd win in Osky. Walker took second ahead of John Whalen, Eric Stogdell and Trent Orwig.

Bob Lynch grabbed the lead early in the Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature but Derrick Agee worked his way up to take away on lap three. Agee saw Cayden Carter move to second, and they began to battle for the lead. Agee held on to the lead until lap eight when Carter grabbed it away. Carter led the remaining laps to take his 4th win at SIS. Agee settled for second with Nathan Wood in third, Daniel Hilsabeck in fourth and Mike Hughes in fifth.

Colton Livezey led the first six laps in the KBOE Radio IMCA Northern SportMods 16 lap event. However a caution came out shortly after the completion of lap six for Leroy Groenendyk and Trent Brink getting together in turn two. On the restart, Logan Anderson snuck by Livezey for the lead but that was short lived because Curtis VanDerWal took the lead away on lap nine. VanDerWal looking to be heading on to another easy win but another caution came out with just two laps to go. VanDerWal held on to take his 7th win at his hometown track. Anderson, Cory Van Zante, Livezey and Aaron Osweiler rounded out the top five.

Scott Dickey started on the pole of the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature event and took full advantage by jumping out to the early lead. Dickey saw Nick Deal chase him down and began to battle for the lead however on lap eight the caution came out for Tony Messamaker in turn two. Caution came out two more times before another lap was completed, Deal spun in turn two collecting Jerry Pilcher and Cayden Carter and then for Pilcher in turn three. Dickey now saw Colt Mather right behind him but Dickey was not going to be fazed as he went on to take his second win of the season. Mather, Andrew Schroeder, Carter VanDenBerg and Brandon Banks finished second through fifth.

Final feature of the night was the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks feature event but before a lap was completed the caution came out for Steve Allen in turn two. On the restart, it was Jared Stephens taking the early race lead. Aaron Martin grabbed the top spot away on lap four Martin saw Danny Thrasher and Dustin Griffiths worked their way up to second and third on lap seven. Griffiths took the lead away from Martin on lap eight and Thrasher got by Martin for second on lap ten. Griffiths and Thrasher began to battle it out again just like they did early in the King of the Hill but this time it was Griffiths taking the win worth $275, it was win number five for Griffiths. Thrasher finished second, Martin was third, Nick Ulin was fourth and Brandon Potts was fifth.

Next Wednesday Night it will be KBOE Radio and Pepsi Mahaska Bottling Night at the Southern Iowa Fair featuring the Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds. IMCA Stock Cars, IMCA Northern SportMods, IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts all on the card. The Southern Iowa Speedway Hall of Fame Induction will take place at Intermission where Dean Sylvester, Danny Wallace and Jim Brown joins the five inducted last year. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

For more information, Like Southern Iowa Speedway Every Wednesday Night on facebook, check out oskyspeedway.com or call Mike Van Genderen at 641-521-0330.