Thrasher Wins Again on Pro-Line Night

Print this page
April 17, 2015

Oskaloosa, Iowa (April 15th, 2015) After Mother Nature took Drivers Get In Free Night a week ago, they got their chance on Wednesday Night as it was Pro Line Building Company Night at the races. 85 race teams checked in to tame the big half mile.


First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts 12 lap feature event and it was Trent Orwig taking the early lead. Orwig was not able to pull away as Bill Whalen Jr took the top spot away on lap three. Whalen and Orwig continued to battle it out the rest of the way and it was Orwig making the right move on lap ten to take the win. Whalen settled for second, Matt Moore was third, John Whalen was fourth and Seth Woodruff was fifth.


In the Pepsi IMCA Hobby Stocks 16 lap feature, it was Danny Thrasher taking off right where he left two weeks ago at the Frostbuster. The only race caution came out on lap seven when Daniel Dyer had his right front wheel come off and sending him spinning on the front stretch. Thrasher lead the entire distance and held off several challenges from Jamie Songer to take the win. Bill Bonnett got by Songer for second coming to the checkered. Dustin Griffiths and Derek Hodges finished fourth and fifth respectively.


Shane Weller and Todd Reitzler lead the field of 28 cars to the green in the 18 lap Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars feature but it was Damon Murty taking the early lead. The first race caution came out when Mike Brown, son of Southern Iowa Speedway Hall of Fame Aaron Brown, spun in turn two. Murty was not to be slowed by down by it but Zack Vanderbeek was able to work his way from seventh to second and finally made the pass for the lead on lap eight. Murty tried several times to get back by Vanderbeek until the final caution came out on lap 14 for Derrick Agee coming to a stop at the top of turns three and four. Vanderbeek held on to win meanwhile Cayden Carter got by Damon Murty on lap 15 to take second. Nathan Wood and Mike Hughes rounded out the top five.


Next Up was the 18 lap KBOE Radio IMCA Northern SportMods feature and it was Curtis VanDerWal, who started inside row three taking the lead from the start. VanDerWal pulled away and went on to take the win in the freature that went green-to-checkered. Brett Lowry ran second the entire distance. Brayton Carter, Jake McBirnie and Jason McDaniel completed the top five.


Final Feature of the night was the 18 lap feature for the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature. Jimmy Gustin and Jacob Murray started front row and it was Jacob Murray grabbing the top spot. Murray pulled away but the only race caution came out on lap six when Cole Ferguson hit the wall hard in turn three, Ferguson was okay but the race car had some heavy damage on the right side. Murray continued to lead and went on to take the win despite hard charging Carter VanDenBerg. Gustin came home in third, Tyler Groenendyk was fourth and Kyle Brown was fifth.


Next Wednesday Night at the Southern Iowa Speedway it will be Southern Iowa Chassis Hobby Stock Special. Hobby Stocks will be draw/redraw again $500 to win. Meanwhile thanks to Edel Lawn Care the IMCA Stock Cars will be $500 to win (22 or more cars) or $400 to win (21 or less) and IMCA SportMods will be $400 to win. Also racing will be the IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Sport Compacts. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.