Chandler, Anderson and Vanderbeek Top Points on Night #1 of Stock Car Shootout

Print this page
July 3, 2014

Chandler, Anderson and

Vanderbeek Top Points on Night #1 of Stock Car Shootout

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 2nd, 2014) Wednesday Night Mother Nature tried

her best to wipe away opening night of the 19th Annual Budweiser Great American

Stock Car Shootout and Inaugural Merv Chandler Memorial not once but twice.

Promoter Mike Van Genderen did not give up after working the track in twice,

racing took place.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars, Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts

each ran two sets of heat races with the best point getter earning the pole of

the dash on Thursday. There would also be a complete show for both the Musco

Lighting IMCA Modifieds and KBOE Radio IMCA Sport Mods.

In the Budweier IMCA Stock Cars, Round one heats went to Damon Murty, Brandon

Jay and Zack Vanderbeek. Round Two heats went to Jason Minnehan, Derrick Agee

and Justin Temeyer. Top eight in heat race points were Zack Vanderbeek, Corey

Stout, Derrick Agee, Damon Murty, Doug Adamy, Scott Pippert, Brandon Jay and

Cayden Carter.

For the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks it was Dale Porter, Shannon Anderson and

Dustin Griffiths in Round one heats. Craig Brown, Eric Stanton and Anderson won

round two heats. Top eight in points were Anderson, Griffiths, Danny Thrasher,

John Watson, Brown, Stanton, Mike Hughes and Jason See.

Nathan Chandler and Kassidy Kirkpatrick won round one of heat races in the IMCA

Sport Compacts Merv Chandler Memorial meanwhile Shaun Slaughter and Chandler

won round two heats. So since Chandler won both rounds he lead the top eight

with Slaughter, Brandon Lambert, Cody Cleghorn, Kassidy Kirkpatrick, Adam

Gates, Nick Van Hemert and Bill Whalen Jr also rounding out the top eight in


In the KBOE Radio IMCA Sport Mods 14 lap feature, the field saw the caution

come out when Point Leader Jason McDaniel spun on the front stretch on the

initial start. Jason Hall grabbed the lead on the restart and lead until

Montezuma's Brett Lowry took it away on lap five. Lowry pulled away to win by

over a full straight-away to take his second win of the season at Osky. Carter

Vandenberg got by Hall on lap ten for the second spot meanwhile Hall finished

third. Charlie Weber was fourth and Brayton Carter was fifth.

For the second week in a row, Rookie AJ Johnson grabbed the early lead in the

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 14 lap feature. "Kool-Aid Kid" Andrew

Schroeder, celebrating his birthday, took the lead away on lap three and had a

full straight-away lead over Johnson when the only race caution came out on lap

12 for Scott Dickey in turn three. Schroder lead the remaining two laps to take

third win in a row at Osky. Johnson finished second, Jeff Mueller finished

third, Cayden Cater was fourth and Dakota Hayden was fifth.

Final Race of the night was Iowa Sportsman Series 30 lap event. Aaron Martin

lead the first five laps before Travis Dawson took the lead away. Dawson went

on to take the win despite several challenges from Darrin DeZwarte. Martin,

Doug Weiss and Darin Van Dee rounded out the top five.

Southern Iowa Speedway is back at again Thursday Night for Night two of 19th

Annual Budweiser Great American Stock Car Shootout and Inaugural Merv Chandler

Memorial. $2,000 to win IMCA Stock Cars, $1,000 to win IMCA Hobby Stocks and

$700 to win IMCA Sport Compacts. Edel Lawn Care has added $200 to third place

finisher in the Stock Cars. McFarland Pain Clinic added $200 to the hard

charger award if the competitor raced Wednesday. All IMCA Points (Track,

Regional, State and National) will be awarded, track provisionals for top two

not qualified for feature if in top 15 in SIS Points.