Vanderbeek Wins Again at the Southern Iowa Speedway

Print this page
August 21, 2013

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (August 21st, 2013) –  Its been two weeks

since  racing action took place at the Southern Iowa Speedway and three

weeks since the last weekly track points night. On Wednesday night, the

speedway returned to action and one driver got a victory on his birthday.

After the heat races there was a Battle of the Classes with the Late Models,

Modifieds, Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Sport Mods each having two cars out on

track spread out around the track.Late Models had to go 6 laps, Modifieds 5.5

laps, Sport Mods 5.2 laps, Stock Cars 5 laps and Hobby Stocks 4.5 laps. Justin

Hook took the win and Steve Allen finished second but if there was another lap

they might not have since Damon Murty, a Stock Car and Late Models of Nick

Marolf and Spencer Diercks were coming.

First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts feature and it was Bill

Whalen Jr. grabbing the lead and never looking back despite several challenges

from Merv Chandler. Trent Orwig came home in third position.

Aaron Osweiler grabbed the early lead in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stock

feature but Mike Hughes worked his up from his ninth place starting spot to

take the lead on lap seven. Hughes and the field saw the only caution come out

on lap nine when Travis Bunnell hit the wall hard on the front stretch forcing

his car to a stop. Hughes held on to take the win with Danny Thrasher in

second. Bill Bonnett came home in third, Aaron Osweiler was fourth and Justin

Hook was fifth.

In the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature it was AJ Johnson

grabbing the lead just like he did three weeks ago this time the caution waved

on lap three when Bill Livezey experienced troubles in turn two. Johnson got a

great restart but on lap four the caution waved when Tony Johnson made contact

with Brett Lowry in turn four sending Lowry around. AJ Johnson continued to

lead until Carter VanDenBerg made his way up to grab the top spot away on lap

eight. VanDenBerg lead the remaining laps to take the win over AJ Johnson,

Brett Lowry, Logan Anderson and Eric Flander.

Brad Pinkerton once again grabbed the lead early in the Budweiser IMCA Stock

Car feature and appeared to heading on to the win until fellow friend Zack

Vanderbeek worked his way through the field. Vanderbeek chased down Pinkerton

and made the pass on the last lap to take the win on his birthday. Pinkerton

finished runner up again, Damon Murty was third, Todd Reitzler and Bill Osbahr

rounded out the top five.

Just as the first lap was completed in the KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models feature,

Paul Glendenning spun on the front stretch forcing the yellow. Darrel DeFrance

lead that lap and the remaining laps despite the caution coming out on lap

thirteen when Spencer Diercks spun in turn four. DeFrance took the win with Track

Champion Todd Cooney in second, Nick Marolf in third, Diercks in fourth and

Glendenning in fifth.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature saw

Andrew Schroeder lead the opening lap but just after the completion of that lap

the caution came out when Jesse Sobbing experience a flat tire and got stuck up

against the outside wall, Sobbing went and change that tire since he was trying

to be William Gould in the National Points. Schroeder continued to lead it but

after lap 2 was completed the caution came out again when Steve Pumphrey saw

his engine expire going in turn one. On the restart, Schroeder was passed by

Tyler Groenendyk but Groenendyk lead was short lived when Colt Mather grabbed

the lead away just before the yellow on lap four. Mather pulled away and took

the easy win over Groenendyk, Sobbing, Carter and Nick Deal.

Next Weekly Points Night at the speedway will be Wednesday Night September 11th

for Musco Lighting Night at the races, also on the card for that night is the

Iowa Sportsman Series. The following Wednesday Night will be Pepsi Cola/KBOE

Radio Season Championship Night.  Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing at 7:30pm.

Don’t forget to mark your calendars for the speedway’s annual fall special the

27th Annual Musco Lighting Fall Challenge coming on Friday and Saturday October

4th and 5th.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results

Support American Farmers Night

August 21st, 2013

KBOE Radio IMCA Late Models

1. 99D Darrel DeFrance (Marshalltown); 2. 30 Todd Cooney (Des Moines);

3. 33 Nick Marolf (Moscow); 4. 29 Spencer Diercks (Davenport); 5. 33G Paul

Glendenning (Mount Ayr); 6. 15C Curt Schroeder (Ames); 7. B00K Dylan Book

(Adel); 8. 45 Tommy Elston (Keouk); DNS/9. 5 Jeremy Grady (Ames)

Heat: 1. Marolf; 2. Cooney; 3. Glendenning; 4. Diercks; 5. DeFrance; 6.

Schroeder; 7. Book; 8. Elston; 9. Grady

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

1. 8 Colt Mather (Webster); 2. 17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 3.

99 Jesse Sobbing (Glenwood); 4. 10C Cayden Carter (Oskaloosa); 5. 55D Nick Deal

(Walnut); 6. 66 Jeff Joldersma (McClelland); 7. 9 Dakota Hayden (Wilton); 8. 60

William Gould (Calera, OK); 9. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 10. 64 Casey

Greubel (Lacona); 11. 7W Jerry Pilcher (Bloomfield); 12. 22 Brandon Banks

(Washington); 13. 02 Andrew Schroeder (Keswick); 14. 48J Jacob Murray

(Hartford); 15. 38 Bill Gibson (Knoxville); 16. 77 Jim Lynch (Bloomfield); 17.

17X Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); DNS/18. 40 Scott Dickey (Packwood)

Heat 1: 1. Davis; 2. Carter; 3. Mather; 4. Banks; 5. Joldersma; 6. Deal;

7. Dickey; 8. Gibson; 9. Greubel

Heat 2: 1. Groenendyk; 2. Schroeder; 3. Sobbing; 4. Pilcher; 5. Lynch;

6. Gould; 7. Hayden; 8. Pumphrey; 9. Murray

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars

1. 33Z Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon); 2. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New

Sharon); 3. 99D Damon Murty (Chelsea); 4. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 5. 88

Bill Osbahr (Avoca); 6. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 7. 18 Kris Walker

(Oskaloosa); 8. 52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 9. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa);

10. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 11. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des Moines); 12. 26 Greg

Harsch (Bloomfield); 13. 7 Todd Phillips (Packwood); 14. 27J Jason Cook (Mt.

Pleasant); DNS/15. 2N Donavon Nunnikhoven (Sully)

Heat 1: 1. Cook; 2. Vogt; 3. Walker; 4. Vanderbeek; 5. Stout; 6. Wood;

7. Osbahr; 8. Pearson

Heat 2: 1. Reitzler; 2.Murty; 3. Van Gorp; 4. Nunnikhoven; 5. Pinkerton;

6. Phillips; 7. Harsch

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods

1. 7 Carter VanDenBerg (Oskaloosa); 2. 8J AJ Johnson (New Sharon);

3. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 4. 9A Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 5. 12 Eric

Flander (Barnes City); 6. 42 Tyler Heckart (Ottumwa); 7. 8T Tony Johnson

(Oskaloosa); 8. 34Z Cory Van Zante (Sully); 9. 49G Leroy Groenendyk

(Oskaloosa); 10. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 11. 10 Brayton Carter

(Oskaloosa); 12. 53 Greg Strohman (Webster); 13. 29 Bill Livezey (New Sharon)

Heat 1: 1. T. Johnson; 2. Lowry; 3. Anderson; 4. Livezey; 5. Flander; 6.

Van Zante; 7. Strohman

Heat 2: 1. VanDerWal; 2. AJ Johnson; 3. VanDenBerg; 4. Heckart; 5.

Groenendyk; 6. Carter

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks

1. 11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 2. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 3.

19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 4. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South English); 5. 33 Justin

Hook (Oskaloosa); 6. 10G Dustin Griffiths (Ottumwa); 7. 32T Bobby Greene

(Eddyville); 8. 55 Jared Stephens (Bussey); 9. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 10.

3S Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 11. 79S Jason See (Albia); 12. 31 Adam Bonnett


Heat 1: 1. Hughes; 2. B. Bonnett; 3. See; 4. Hook; 5. Bunnell; 6.


Heat 2: 1. Allen; 2. Thrasher; 3. Griffiths; 4. Osweiler; 5. A. Bonnett;

6. Greene

IMCA Sport Compacts

1. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside); 2. 2 Merv Chandler (Urbana);

3. 04 Trent Orwig (Blakesburg)

Heat: 1. Whalen; 2. Chandler; DNS/3. Orwig