Smith Takes $1,000 back to Nebraska on Night #2 of the Southern Iowa Fair

Print this page
July 17, 2013

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (July 17th 2013)   After a great night of racing

the night before at the Mahaska County Monster it was back to action for Night

#2 of the Southern Iowa Fair Races sponsored by Pepsi Cola Mahaska Bottling

Company and KBOE Radio. Mark Widmar was also in attendance and received a check

for all the money raised by the drivers after the violent accident a few months

ago, the fire and rescue crew presented Mark with a helmet signed by all of the


First feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts feature and it was Merv

Chandler grabbing the lead and really not being challenged until late in the 10

lapper when Bill Whalen Jr. tired to get by but came up short. Chandler took

the win, Bill Whalen was second, Kevin Kirkpatrick worked his way to finish

third, John Whalen was fourth and Matt Moore was fifth.

Dustin Griffiths lead from start to finish in the Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stock

feature but was challenged by Mike Hughes the entire way. Hughes was unable to

get by Griffiths and came across in 2nd but was disqualifed in post race tech

inspection giving the runner up spot to Danny Thrasher. Bill Bonnett, Dale

Porter and Eric Stanton rounded out the top five.

Brett Lowry took full advantage of his outside front row starting position in

the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods feature by jumping into the

early lead and he began to pull away with Eric Flander running second. Lowry

and the field saw the only yellow wave on lap ten for debris in turn one and

Logan Anderson on the exit of turn two. Lowry pulled away again and went on to

take the win despite Curtis VanDerWal, who passed Flander for second, and

Flander tried to chase him down. For Lowry it was third win of the season at

SIS. VanDerWal, Flander, Carter VanDenBerg and Jason McDaniel finished second

through fifth respectively.

Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars saw Todd Reitzler grab the early lead but Corey Stout

stayed in tow as did Damon Murty, meanwhile Brad Pinkerton was working on

trying to get by Murty. Finally Pinkerton got by Murty on lap eleven and set

his sights on Stout, Pinkerton snuck by Stout on lap eighteen. This set an

amazing last two laps as Reitzler and Pinkerton battle for position, Pinkerton

had the lead at the line by a bumper and finally completed the pass on the last

lap. Pinkerton went on to take his second win of the season. Reitzler finished

in the runner up position, Jason Cook finish third, Nathan Wood finish fourth and

Stout spun out and crossed the line in fifth.

Final feature of the night was the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds 22 lap

feature. Dylan Smith and Kyle Brown lead the field to the green but it was

Dylan Smith and Luke Wanninger jumping to the top two spots. Smith and

Wanninger ran one and two respectively almost the entire distance with about

the only thing slowing them down was the lap traffic which they hit around

halfway. Smith from Osceola, Nebraska went on to take the $1,000 to go with the

win. Jacob Murray beat Wanninger by a bumper at the line for second. Kyle

Strickler finish third and Scott Dickey was fourth.

Racing resumes next Wednesday night at the Southern Iowa Speedway with KISS

101.5 Night plus the Iowa Sportsman Series returns. Hot Laps at 7pm and Racing

at 7:30pm.