Lowry Cashes Big on Titan Machinery, Vital Men and Johnís Tree Service Night at Osky

Print this page
June 26, 2013

By Jeremy Fox

Oskaloosa, Iowa (June 26th, 2013) Ė  No surprise mother nature

wasnít going to play nice as just about an hour before the gates were to open

up mother nature decided to drop a good rain shower but that didnít damper the

plans of racing at SIS. The night sponsored by Titan Machinery, Vital Men and

Johnís Tree Service featured the IMCA Sport Mod Special rescheduled from last

month and also Trick or Treating for the kids.

In the IMCA Sport Compacts feature it was Brandon Lambert lead the first three

laps before Bill Whalen Jr. sneaked by on lap 4. Whalen appeared to be heading

to the win until Merv Chandler worked his way past Lambert on lap six and then

set his sights on Whalen. Whalen and Chandler battled it out for the lead but

on the last lap it was Chandler crossing the stripe first to take his 5th at

SIS. Whalen finish 2nd, Lambert was 3rd, John Whalen came home 4th and Duayne

Herb finish 5th.

Brad Pinkerton grabbed the lead early in the Budweiser IMCA Stock Car feature

but the yellow came out on lap seven when Donnie Pearson came to a stop in turn

2. Pinkerton had to deal with Rich Vogt and Corey Stout on the restart and 2

laps later it was Vogt grabbing the lead. Vogt and the field saw the yellow

come out on lap 11 when Ryan Leeman had his power plant expire and on the

restart, Nathan Wood got by Pinkerton for second. Vogt held of challenges from

Wood to go on to take the win. Todd Reitzler, who started 16th, got by Wood on

the last lap to finish second. Stout finished fourth and Kris Walker finished


In the Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA Sport Mods 30 lap feature, which was

split up into two 15 lap segments with a 10 minute pit stop in the middle.

Tyler Gross grabbed the early lead but just after the completion of lap 3, Ben

Kates and Eric Flander came together in turn 3 forcing an early exit for Kates.

Gross continued to lead until coming to the completion of lap 12 when he

experienced troubles and  pulled in handing the lead over to Glenn

Gladson. Brett Lowry grabbed the lead from Gladson a lap later. Lowry led until

the caution waved for the mid-way pit stop.

Lowry, Gladson, Jason McDaniel, AJ Johnson and Rick Goldsberry was the top 5 at

the mid-way point. Lowry began to pull away until lap traffic slowed him down

and this allowed McDaniel who worked his way by Gladson on lap 18. Lowry held

off McDaniel to take the win which was worth $750 for the win, another $250

bonus for racing before making it a $1,000 win for Lowry. McDaniel finish 2nd,

Matt Lettow started 14th and finish 3rd, Curtis VanDerWal started 20th and

finish 4th and Gladson finish 5th.

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks feature saw Aaron Osweiler lead the first 2 laps

before ďThe DudeĒ Danny Thrasher grabbed the lead away. Thrasher lead until a

late race caution on lap 9 for Dale Porter in turn 2. Thrasher had to deal with

Bill Bonnett on the restart and these two raced wheel to wheel and produced a

photo finish at the line. Bonnett grabbed the win by a bumper at the line over

Thrasher. Mike Hughes came home in 3rd, Craig Brown was 4th and Jamie Songer

was 5th.

Bill Davis Jr. jumped to the lead in the final feature of the night which was

the Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds feature. Davis appeared to be heading on to

the win before Colt Mather chased him down on lap 11 and Mather grabbed the

lead away on lap 12. Mather went on to take the win with Davis in second. Tyler

Gronenendyk grabbed third away from Tyler Vandekamp on the last lap and Bill

Gibson came home 5th.

Next Wednesday Night will be the start to a very busy month of racing at the

Southern Iowa Speedway as the speedway will host the 18th Annual Original

Budweiser Stock Car Shootout as the IMCA Stock Cars will race for $1,500 to win

and $100 to start. Also racing will be the IMCA Modifieds, IMCA Sport Mods,

IMCA Hobby Stocks and IMCA Sport Compacts.   There will be a special

start time with Hot Laps at 6pm and Racing at 6:30pm because City Of

Oskaloosaís fireworks will follow the races that night.

Southern Iowa Speedway Results

Titan Machinery/Vital Men/Johnís Tree Service Night

June 26th, 2013

Musco Lighting IMCA Modifieds

1. 8 Colt Mather (Webster); 2. 1+ Bill Davis Jr. (Des Moines); 3.

17 Tyler Groenendyk (Oskaloosa); 4. 51 Tyler Vandekamp (Ankeny); 5. 38 Bill

Gibson (Knoxville); 6. 5 Todd Shute (Des Moines); 7. 40 Scott Dickey

(Packwood); 8. 13 Matt Waugh (Altoona); 9. 48J Jacob Murray (Hartford); 10. 17X

Steve Pumphrey (Fairfield); 11. 64 Casey Greubel (Lacona); 12. 22 Brandon Banks


Heat 1: 1. Waugh; 2. Groenendyk; 3. Shute; 4. Banks; 5. Greubel; 6.


Heat 2: 1. Davis; 2. Vandekamp; 3. Gibson; 4. Mather; 5. Murray; 6.


Budweiser IMCA Stock Cars

1. 38 Rich Vogt (Fairfield); 2. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 3.

52 Nathan Wood (Sigourney); 4. 94 Corey Stout (Oskaloosa); 5. 18 Kris Walker

(Oskaloosa); 6. 62 Brad Pinkerton (New Sharon); 7. 19A Alan Van Gorp (Des

Moines); 8. 25D Bob Daniels (Des Moines); 9. 6J Brandon Jay (Columbus

Junction); 10. 19 Donnie Pearson (Oskaloosa); 11.73C Carl Yaw Jr. (Pleasant

Hill); 12. R31 Ryan Leeman (Roland); 13. 27J Jason Cook (Mt. Pleasant); 14. 99D

Damon Murty (Chelsea); DNS: 17 Brock Welch (Oskaloosa); DNS: 44 Todd Fisher


Heat 1: 1. Vogt; 2. Murty; 3. Cook; 4. Pearson; 5. Jay; 6. Leeman; 7.

Welch; 8. Van Gorp

Heat 2: 1. Pinkerton; 2. Wood; 3. Walker; 4. Stout; 5. Daniels; 6. Yaw;

7. Fisher; 8. Reitzler

Pyramid Graphics and Sports IMCA SportMods

1. 72 Brett Lowry (Montezuma); 2. 85 Jason McDaniel (Eldon); 3. 21

Matt Lettow (Roland); 4. 1V Curtis VanDerWal (Oskaloosa); 5. 71 Glenn Gladson

Jr. (Des Moines); 6. 8J AJ Johnson (New Sharon); 7. 02 Rick Goldsberry

(Runnells); 8. 95J Jason Hall (Grinnell); 9. 29 Bill Livery (New Sharon); 10.

99X Rocky Caudle (Ellsworth); 11. 30X Josh Modde (Des Moines); 12. 12 Eric

Flander (Barnes City); 13. 8T Tony Johnson (Oskaloosa); 14. 7 Carter VanDenBerg

(Oskaloosa); 15. 34 Jerry Hinton (Adel); 16. 64 Brandon Leeman (Roland); 17. 9A

Logan Anderson (Oskaloosa); 18. 8 Tom Lathrop (Ottumwa); 19. 10 Brayton Carter

(Oskaloosa); 20. 7+ Jared Timmerman (Norwalk); 21. 0B Colby Oberemebt (Adel);

22. 57 Tyler Gross (Bondurant); 23. 1X Austin Kaplan (Des Moines); 24. 23JR

Nick Roberts (Des Moines); 25. 23K Ben Kates (Tonganoxie, KS)

Heat 1: 1. Livery; 2. Leeman; 3. VanDenBerg; 4. Oberemebt; 5. Caudle; 6.

Carter; 7. Kates; 8. Timmerman; 8. Anderson

Heat 2: 1. McDaniel; 2. AJ Johnson; 3. Lowry; 4. Goldsberry; 5. Lettow;

6. Flander; 7. VanDerWal; 8. Hinton

Heat 3: 1. Gladson; 2. Kaplan; 3. Gross; 4. Roberts; 5. Hall; 6.

Lathrop; 7. Modde; 8. T. Johnson

Pepsi Cola IMCA Hobby Stocks

1. 19 Bill Bonnett (Knoxville); 2. 84 Danny Thrasher (Agency); 3.

11 Mike Hughes (Oskaloosa); 4. 69 Craig Brown (Eldon); 5. 96R Jamie Songer

(Ankeny); 6. 32T Bobby Greene (Eddyville); 7. 7A Aaron Osweiler (South

English); 8. 3 Travis Bunnell (Hedrick); 9. 33 Justin Hook (Oskaloosa); 10. 3S

Steve Allen (Oskaloosa); 11. 10 Dale Porter (Bloomfield)

Heat 1: 1. Greene; 2. Porter; 3. Songer; 4. Brown; 5. Bunnell; 6. Allen

Heat 2: 1. Hughes; 2. Hook; 3. Bonnett; 4. Thrasher; 5. Osweiler

IMCA Sport Compacts

1. 2 Merv Chandler (Urbana); 2. 00W Bill Whalen Jr. (Riverside);

3. 14L Brandon Lambert (Carthage, IL); 4. 77 John Whalen (Ainsworth); 5. 57

Duayne Herb (Cedar Rapids); 6. 66R Richie Arnold (Ottumwa); 7. 22 Austen

Beccera (Carthage, IL)

Heat : 1. Lambert; 2. Chandler; 3. J. Whalen; 4. Herb; 5. B. Whalen; 6.

Arnold; 7. Beccera